Self-service check-in kiosks: What's your take?

What do you think about self-service cruise check-in kiosks (choose all that apply)?  

510 members have voted

1. 1. What do you think about self-service cruise check-in kiosks (choose all that apply)?

• I think it is a great idea -- it will speed up the process.
    • I like it; if you want something done right, do it yourself.
    • I'm on the fence; what if I have a question to ask someone?
    • I'll opt for regular check-in -- I'm not very tech savvy!
    • Whatever happened to good old-fashioned one-on-one service?
    • I tried it at Port Everglades and liked it.
    • I tried it at Port Everglades and disliked it.
    • None of the above
    • Something else (which I'll post)

In an attempt to further streamline the check-in process -- ever more onerous as ships grow in size -- Carnival is testing out new self-service cruise check-in kiosks at the Port of Miami. Costa introduced them just last year at Port Everglades.

To use the kiosks, Carnival passengers must pre-register online and be a citizen of the U.S., Canada or a visa-waiver country. Guests can access their reservations and check in by swiping their passport or the credit card used to pre-register. (For more information, read the full story here.)

We want to know: Do you think self-service check-in kiosks are time savers -- or more trouble than they're worth? Vote in our poll and be sure to post your opinion below!

I think its good for people who can figure it out. I have been in line behind people at the self check out lines at places like Walmart, and it tends to be slower for the ones who can't figure it out, which in turn, slows me down...

I agree with Amy. So often the people who get in the lines are not very tech savvy and it really is slower (I am often one of those people, have yet to check in at the airport without help). I'll just continue to enjoy my Platinum VIP check in!