Solo Transatlantic

seadog83

So I graduated school a couple months back and before going into the big bad world figured I'd get some trips in. One thing I was considering was to get a cheap one way flight to Europe, bum around there for a couple months seeing the sights then instead of flying back, spend a bit more and take a repositioning cruise back because normally I'm told, and on first glance you can get deals since ppl don't want to get stuck with a transatlantic one way flight.

Now, for better or for worse the trip in Europe would be solo, and not that I mind that, but it really throws a hitch into my plan to cruise back to North America come November or whenever. I've been on one cruise with my family, but the whole booking and organizing one is new to me - and on first look for solo travel I am not encouraged. I've seen 11-14 day cruises for as little as $599 which would be an absolute dream to take, espeically since I wanted to head to florida anyways after I got back, bypassing Canada this way would make it essentailly the same price or cheaper.

But naturally the $599 is 'based on double occupancy' and that those specific rooms aren't even offered for singly occupancy. And when you get to a room that is offered for single occupany, the single suppliment is atrocious. like $899 for double (which even still isn't bad) but then like $1700 for solo. You save a whopping $100. Furthur I've read that some lines don't even ALLOW solo travellers, and others don't have '1' as an option when you select the number of adults.

I can appreicate the fact that a room is taken, and that one person occupying it wont give as large a profit as two and something should be done to make up for it, but theres clearly more in your price than the room!