Buying wine in Montreal

I'll be staying at the Le Meridien Versailles in Montreal the night before my cruise. HAL lets you bring on as much wine as you want. Is there someplace "convenient" to the hotel where I could pick up some on the morning before my cruise? I'll have two large suitcases and a good size carry on, so I'm still debating the logistics of how to handle 4 - 5 bottles of wine along with the other stuff. Any suggestions, as I've never tried to do this before.

Thanks.

Wine sales in Quebec are divided in two markets.

The provincial liquor commission, called the SAQ in Quebec has the largest selections of wine and alcohol in the province. Depending on the classification of the store, you can expect to see a large selection of French and Italian fine wines as well as wines from many other countries as well as Canada.

Depanneurs (Convenience stores) and grocery stores are allowed to sell wine and beer during most (but not all) open hours. They are allowed to sell only varietal wines (vin de cepage), in which the type of grape is not allowed to be disclosed.

If you want fine wine, go to the local SAQ. Their website is at http://www.saq.com you can see prices, locations and even inventory.

The closest SAQ is the one in Le Faubourg at 1616 St-Catherine West. As far as Depanneurs (or deps as we call them in English) there are so many that there is no point to give you an address, just ask at the hotel if you don't see them. There are at least 3 within a block of the hotel.

• 4 weeks later...

Ephraim et al,

Does the SAQ or deps carry wine in a box (Black Box or Hardys)? We like to keep wine in our cabin for a before dinner drink and find the boxed wine works well and stays good. Since we will be in Montreal for 3 days before sailing we've like to buy it in Montreal rather than pack it.