Go Back   Cruise Critic Message Board Forums > Cruise Lines "P - Z" > Princess Cruises
 
Register here!
Forgot Your Password?


Notices

Princess Cruises
Read thousands of Princess Cruise Reviews from real cruisers and compare the best Princess Cruise Deals

NEW! Find Your PRINCESS Roll Call

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 29th, 2014, 05:18 PM
rgmacm rgmacm is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 110
Default Electrical Outlets on Caribbean Princess

I have a question about the outlets on Caribbean Princess....as I pack for our cruise in a few weeks. I'm bringing a plug that turns 1 outlet into 3 (don't know what it's called...haha)
Anyway, are the outlets on CB grounded (3 prong)? or the older 2 prong type?
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old March 29th, 2014, 05:26 PM
LARGIN's Avatar
LARGIN LARGIN is offline
10,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 12,170
Default

3 Prong.
__________________
"Laissez les bon temps rouler!"

Future Cruises: Star Princess September 2013 & January 2014, Golden Princess August 2014
Completed Cruises: Coral Princess (11),
Star Princess (5), Regal Princess (old) (5), Golden Princess (4), Caribbean Princess (4), Dawn Princess (3), Grand Princess (3), Sky Princess (2), Fairwind (2), Ruby Princess (1), Sapphire Princess (1), Island Princess (1), Fair Princess (1)

Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old March 29th, 2014, 06:55 PM
cruzrbachoua's Avatar
cruzrbachoua cruzrbachoua is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SAN DEIGO, CA
Posts: 1,460
Default

We just got off CB and the only outlets readily accessible in the main cabin are at the desk. We brought a regular extension cord with the 2 prongs on it. So either will work. We don't use the ones in the bathroom as that room is tiny enough I usually do what must be done in there and get out...lol Oh we had an interior cabin.
__________________
Cassandra

Regal Princess-E. Carib FLL-3/15/15
Caribbean Princess-W. Carib Houston-3/15/14
Sapphire Princess- Wine country coastal-Northbound- 5/11/13
Caribbean Princess-Canada/New England- 10/13/12
Oosterdam Holland America-Mexican Riviera- 10/8/11
Sapphire Princess- Coastal cruzn Vanvouver- SFO 9/20/10 w/ cruiserjanet
Coral Princess- Southbound Alaska 9/11/10 w/ cruiserjanet
Caribbean Princess-Western Caribbean-FLL Oct 2007-met cruiserjanet
caldolover@aol.com
Pics:
http://cruzrbachouapics.shutterfly.com/






Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:05 PM
DrivesLikeMario's Avatar
DrivesLikeMario DrivesLikeMario is offline
5,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 9,853
Default

The problem I always have with those 2 measly desk outlets when using a 3-outlet gizmo is that the whole thing falls out of the outlet. If I plug in 2 items, it seems to be too heavy and bulky. It covers the second outlet completely and makes it hard to turn the desk light on/off.

I think a power strip is better because it's 3-pronged and gets the rest of the plugs out of the way of the light switch.
__________________
30+ Cruises so far - too many to count but never enough!
Princess Elite, RCI Diamond, Celebrity Elite, Cunard Platinum


Upcoming Cruises:
2015: Rhine River Cruise-ZRH to AMS
2015: Star Princess
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:07 PM
Colo Cruiser's Avatar
Colo Cruiser Colo Cruiser is offline
40,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 40,852
Default

Outlet behind the TV.
__________________
Princess Elite Member
53 Princess Cruises



USNS HARKNESS T-AGS 32
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:24 PM
trbarton's Avatar
trbarton trbarton is online now
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,988
Default Plugs

FYI...I think that most cabins have similar plugs.

The bathroom has a non-polarized plug. I wanted to use a night light in that plug and went to a large hardware shop where they took my plug adapter and the key person cut and filed down one of the pins and guess what it fits and works fine.

Besides the 2 plugs at the desk where the phone is there is also another plug behind the TV.

See my photos below.

Any questions please ask.

Tom
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0086.jpg (10.2 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0084.jpg (8.3 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0090.jpg (7.9 KB, 29 views)
__________________


Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:50 PM
rdsqrl rdsqrl is offline
5,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 8,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trbarton View Post
The bathroom has a non-polarized plug. I wanted to use a night light in that plug and went to a large hardware shop where they took my plug adapter and the key person cut and filed down one of the pins and guess what it fits and works fine.
Wow. That seems pretty careless. I hope you know that burned-down ship is coming out of your allowance, young man.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old March 29th, 2014, 10:57 PM
chipmaster's Avatar
chipmaster chipmaster is offline
5,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 8,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsqrl View Post
Wow. That seems pretty careless. I hope you know that burned-down ship is coming out of your allowance, young man.
A bit extreme but could imagine what would happen if everyone on your deck brought a power strip and plugged in 200 watt appliances. The reality is most of us have just too many iGizmos to charge
__________________
Princess: 1999, 2008, 2010, 2014 Disney: 2000, 2014 Carnival:2005
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old March 29th, 2014, 11:08 PM
BillieMomof5boys's Avatar
BillieMomof5boys BillieMomof5boys is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Default

Not near enough outlets. Just back today from the cruise.


Sent from my iPhone using Forums
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old March 30th, 2014, 12:34 AM
Eddieboysr Eddieboysr is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: California
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgmacm View Post
I have a question about the outlets on Caribbean Princess....as I pack for our cruise in a few weeks. I'm bringing a plug that turns 1 outlet into 3 (don't know what it's called...haha)
Anyway, are the outlets on CB grounded (3 prong)? or the older 2 prong type?

I just got off the CB and used a power strip to charge all our equipment. The plug is located on the desk.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks


Ad Sponsored By
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.


© 1995 - 2014, The Independent Traveler, Inc. All rights reserved.
"A Community of People Who Love To Cruise"
All of the information contained within Cruise Critic is protected by copyright. You may, however, download a single copy only for your personal use.