Questions about the Journey into the Midnight Sun excursions

White Egret

Has anyone done VIking Cruise's Journey into the Midnight Sun "Sail in Viking Replica Ship" excursion out of Molde, and if so, do you recommend it as worth doing for the $174?

Are there other excursions on the trip that you highly recommend -- or ones that weren't as interesting as you'd hoped?

Also, how easy were shuttles into town if one explored on one's own?

Thanks! (This is my first time on a cruise.)

Viking has not yet called at Molde so no one has had a chance to take the Viking Ship excursion yet. I'm not sure which cruise you are booked on but that excursion sold out for the 6/3 sailing rather quickly.

The good news about the itinerary for this year's Midnight Sun cruise is that in almost all of the ports the ship docks right in town so no shuttle is needed (Bergen, Geiranger, Molde, Tromso, Honnigsvag, Leknes, Lerwick). In Kirkwall there is a short shuttle ride. The port in Edinburgh is quite a distance from town and it is yet to be determined if Viking will offer shuttle service into town. I certainly hope so but this is the first time they have docked out at Rosyth so we will have to wait and see. In London we will be docked in the heart of Greenwich so there is easy access to public transport into London.

Even though no one on a Viking cruise has done this particular excursion, Viking contracts with local tour providers for its tours in each port. Therefore, you can check in either one of two places to see what others are saying about the tours in Molde. One place would be in the Ports of Call section of these boards and the other would be on Trip Advisor.

Also, how easy were shuttles into town if one explored on one's own?

Thanks! (This is my first time on a cruise.)