Voyages of Discovery financial stability

EDLOS

Thinking of booking Nov 2nd MV Voyager cruise, but reading between the lines leaves me wondering about the financial stability of the line and am confused by the relationship of Cruise & Maritime. Can someone clear the air and give me a comfort level about booking.?????

Thank you

Thinking of booking Nov 2nd MV Voyager cruise, but reading between the lines leaves me wondering about the financial stability of the line and am confused by the relationship of Cruise & Maritime. Can someone clear the air and give me a comfort level about booking.?????

Thank you

I'm no shipping expert but, as I understand it:

ALG [All Leisure Group] have always only had one 'big' ship 'Discovery'and several very small ones. They have now simply chartered their original ship, 'Discovery', to Cruise and Maritime, who needed a replacement small vessel, and ALG have substituted the newly refurbished, 'Voyager' so that they can still trade as 'Voyages of Discovery'.

I have no doubt that someone more knowledgeable on CC will correct me if I've got it wrong!

The whole outfit is small, I agree, but that is how you get the interesting itineraries. I wouldn't think financial viability should be any more of a concern than with any of the 'big' cruise lines.

Pity you are having flight difficulties. Good luck with it.

HD

Swan Hellenic is also part of the ALG, along with another very small company (Hebridean Island Cruises). From my impressions aboard the SH Minerva last fall, Swan Hellenic at least seem to be doing just fine.