Discover SCUBA course worth it?

KnightsFan

tl;dr is: Going to be in Cozumel. Want to introduce my fiancée to diving, in hopes of getting her to agree that it's a fun sport we can pursue together. Worried it'll be 10 minutes of staring at sand. Is this a valid concern?

Longer version: going on a mini-honeymoon to Cozumel, taking RCI. I've heard the diving down there is spectacular. It's something that I want to experience. But I'll need to talk my fiancée into it, since she has never felt the itch to get certified and doesn't have an inherent love of the ocean like I do.

Her biggest concern, and mine, is that the 2 and a half hour excursion won't give her a proper taste, that we won't get much time on the reef. And that she'll spend the entire time worried about messing something up. Altogether making it the lesser option compared to a snorkeling tour

So for those who know about it, or have done it before, is it fun? Will it give a total newbie the confidence to not be panicking? And give us time to see what makes it so awesome?

For reference, I'd go out and get certified tomorrow if I had the disposable income and a partner. My uncle gave me a taste when I was a kid and it's been on my to-do list ever since.

tl;dr is: Going to be in Cozumel. Want to introduce my fiancée to diving, in hopes of getting her to agree that it's a fun sport we can pursue together. Worried it'll be 10 minutes of staring at sand. Is this a valid concern?

Longer version: going on a mini-honeymoon to Cozumel, taking RCI. I've heard the diving down there is spectacular. It's something that I want to experience. But I'll need to talk my fiancée into it, since she has never felt the itch to get certified and doesn't have an inherent love of the ocean like I do.