Norovirus on 2/16/14 Explorer

Calois1016

Hello all,

This may be long so here is your warning!

I am new to Cruise Critic and I have been reading some of the threads before cruising on 2/16/2014. My fiance and I cruised out of Bayonne, NJ on the Explorer of the Seas. This was a 7 day cruise going to Florida and the Bahamas. Here is my story:

Knowing that this cruise was infected with Noro about 3 weeks ago made us hesitant; but this was the only time we could both go away until the summer. Everything was great until Wednesday, February 19th when we docked in Nassau, Bahamas. My fiance and I headed to Senor Frogs and had some lunch. We decided to head back to the boat to go in the pool and take the sun. Everything was going great until we dried off from the hot tub and pool. I witnessed a boy who vomited right near the pool floor. I then realized he was in the hot tub with us along with the pool. My first instinct - GREAT! He has to have the Noro.

We go back to our room an hour later and shower. I lay in the bed and I tell my fiance that I wasnt feeling too well. Before you know it, it was all downhill from there. I don't want to go into detail, but yes; I knew I had the Norovirus. This happned about 6:30pm but it got so bad that I just had to go to the nurse around 9:00pm. All said and done, I was isolated in my room for 24 hours. That brings us to 11:00pm Thursday night when the nurse cleared me. We did not get out of our rooms until Friday at 2:30pm because nobody came to clean the room or bring us new towels. We needed to shower before going out into the public.

All said and done, we missed half of Nassau and all of CocoCay. I say WE even though my fiance was fine. Let's be real, he was taking care of me all of those hours and did not want to leave my side no matter how sick I was. He DID have the freedom to explore (no pun intended) the ship and go to the ports of call...but he didnt.

HERE IS MY PROBLEM: