Last week (8/17-24) on the Amsterdam review

kittercat85

I know there's another thread going now from someone currently on the Amsterdam for the 14 day Alaska, but I had planned all along to do my own review when we got home from our trip. I hope you enjoy my review... I've never done this before :)

My husband and I went on the 7 day round trip Seattle Alaskan cruise for our honeymoon. We actually got married in November, but as we are both teachers, summer was the best time to go. This was his first cruise and my third. My two prior cruises have been on HAL - 7 day Vancouver Alaska trip in 1999 and Western Caribbean in 2001. It has been a while.

Pre-Cruise in Seattle

We flew out to Seattle via JFK on the Wednesday before the cruise. We live upstate in the Albany area, but my parents are from down on Long Island, a few minutes from Islip airport (if anybody knows where that is). We chose to fly JetBlue as they had a direct flight, and Southwest out of Islip would put us out with 2 stops.

The morning of our departure was an absolute nightmare. We had driven down the night before and my dad was going to drive us to the airport that morning. Well, that late night into early morning we had absolute torrential downpours on LI. You may have even heard about it, apparently it made some big news. Roads were flooded everywhere. It took us 4 different tries to get out of my neighborhood to any major road. Parts of the LIE were flooded, cars were floating in places. I have an app called Waze on my phone that is user updated and live... and I think if it weren't for that with the live traffic and condition updates, we never would have made our flight. As it was, we got there around 7:40 for our 8:45 flight. Curbside luggage drop/check-in saved our life. We walked up to the gate around 8:05 and they started boarding our flight at 8:10. Phew.