Go Back   Cruise Critic Message Board Forums > Cruise Lines "A - O" > Holland America Line
 
Register here!
Forgot Your Password?


Notices

Holland America Line
Read thousands of Holland America Cruise Reviews from real cruisers and compare the best Holland America Cruise Deals

How to Organize a Cruise Critic Meet & Mingle (Meet & Greet) on Board Your Holland America Cruise

NEW! Find Your HOLLAND AMERICA Roll Call

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 18th, 2013, 10:19 AM
ryndam's Avatar
ryndam ryndam is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 491
Default Veendam Cabin Electrical Question

Sailing on the Veendam next month. Been on the Rotterdam-class and Vista-class ships often, but it's been over 10 years since on the Veendam. Does anyone know how many electrical outlets are in the cabin? Both US-type plugs? And/or European type pin-plugs? All these battery-operated cameras, phones and I-pads must be recharged! Thanks much!
Reply With Quote

Ad Sponsored By
  #2  
Old July 18th, 2013, 10:26 AM
jtl513's Avatar
jtl513 jtl513 is offline
20,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Space Coast FL
Posts: 21,546
Default

Same as the R-class - a combo outlet with one US 115v and one European 220v (2 round pins), over the desk.
__________________
John
AMSTERDAM 2641 Alaska 7/02 | WESTERDAM 8010 Baltic 9/05 | NOORDAM 7124 Western Mediterranean 6/06 | VEENDAM 712 Western Caribbean 12/06 | Sovereign of the Seas 6556 Bahamas 4/07 | STATENDAM 394 Alaska Cruise-Tour 9/07 | ZUIDERDAM 8021 Eastern Caribbean 12/07 | AMSTERDAM 3385 Panama Canal transit 4/08 | EURODAM 4130 Bahamas 10/08 | NOORDAM 8009 Southern Caribbean 12/08 | NOORDAM 4178 Southern Caribbean 12/09 | NIEUW AMSTERDAM 8057 Eastern Mediterranean 9/10 | RYNDAM 394 Western Caribbean 12/10 | VEENDAM 418 Bermuda 10/11 | MAASDAM 404 3/12 | PRINSENDAM 303 Trans-Atlantic 5/13 | Disney Dream 10508 Bahamas 11/13


Last edited by jtl513; July 18th, 2013 at 10:35 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old July 18th, 2013, 10:35 AM
ryndam's Avatar
ryndam ryndam is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 491
Default

Thank you so much for the rapid response!
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old July 18th, 2013, 10:51 AM
quack2 quack2 is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 107
Default

I usually pack a small power strip for that reason.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old July 18th, 2013, 11:19 AM
jtl513's Avatar
jtl513 jtl513 is offline
20,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Space Coast FL
Posts: 21,546
Default

I bring just a European-US adapter plug for my dual-voltage laptop charger, and a couple of cube taps (aka triple taps) which I "stack" for the 115v stuff.

Last edited by jtl513; July 18th, 2013 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old July 18th, 2013, 01:55 PM
PathfinderEss's Avatar
PathfinderEss PathfinderEss is online now
10,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Orange County, Calif
Posts: 14,089
Default

We always bring a couple of power strips, besides laptops, phones, cameras, we have hairdryer, razor and toothbrushes.
__________________
<img src=http://www.hollandamerica.com/images/5starMariner.gif border=0 alt= />
Melodie

Admiral-1-cruise
Holland America-42-cruises
Carnival-1-cruise
Celebrity-4-cruises
Crystal-1-cruise
Princess-3-cruises
Royal Caribbean-2-cruises
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old July 18th, 2013, 03:45 PM
RuthC's Avatar
RuthC RuthC is offline
30,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwick, R.I. , USA
Posts: 30,981
Smile

There is also an electrical outlet in the bathroom. Unfortunately, it's just about at ceiling level, off to the extreme side of the light fixture. It's meant for such things as a razor or rechargeable toothbrush.

The problem with trying to use it for a toothbrush is that being so high, the charger just hangs there, with no solid surface to be set on.
Of course, the problem with the outlet at all is that one needs to be tall enough to reach it. I expect the bathroom was designed by a former NBA player in a new life.
But if you need it, and can reach it, it's there for you.
__________________
Try www.halfacts.com for info on HAL

If the answer isn't "chocolate", you're asking the wrong question.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old July 18th, 2013, 05:09 PM
Swice's Avatar
Swice Swice is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 165
Default Just back

We just returned from the Veendam. It had been 14 years since we had been on that class and we had forgotten the electrical situation.

There is one box at the desk with one american and one european plug. NOTE: The TV is plugged into the american plug... so that means THERE IS NO AVAILABLE AMERICAN PLUG IN THE BED AREA. We had to unplug the TV at times to use the hairdryer or charge the camera.

I charged our phone and iPad using the bathroom plug in the light fixture. NOTE: The plug only operates/charges when the bathroom light is on. So we would leave the bathroom light on whle at dinner or at a movie. The cabin steward would enter the room to clean and would turn the light off and our electronics would not be fully charged when we returned.

It was a reminder how things have changed. When this ship was built, passengers didn't need to charge multiple phones, iPads, cameras, etc.
__________________
Favorite: Holland America,
Cruised others: Princess, Carnival and United States Lines (Hawaii)
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old July 18th, 2013, 05:22 PM
RuthC's Avatar
RuthC RuthC is offline
30,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwick, R.I. , USA
Posts: 30,981
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swice View Post
There is one box at the desk with one american and one european plug. NOTE: The TV is plugged into the american plug... so that means THERE IS NO AVAILABLE AMERICAN PLUG IN THE BED AREA. We had to unplug the TV at times to use the hairdryer or charge the camera.
That's unusual! I have never seen that, but I haven't been in all the cabin categories.
What category were you in?

I spend a lot of time in inside cabins, and my TV has always been up on a shelf above the desk, alongside the closet. It's had its own outlet separate and apart from the ones at the desk level.
__________________
Try www.halfacts.com for info on HAL

If the answer isn't "chocolate", you're asking the wrong question.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old July 18th, 2013, 08:12 PM
jtl513's Avatar
jtl513 jtl513 is offline
20,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Space Coast FL
Posts: 21,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swice View Post
NOTE: The TV is plugged into the american plug... so that means THERE IS NO AVAILABLE AMERICAN PLUG IN THE BED AREA.
That wasn't the case for the two times we were on the Veendam (FF and D cabins), most recently 2 years ago. Nor was it the case in cabins on the Ryndam, Statendam, or Maasdam. It sounds to me like you got a cabin needing repair of the TV power outlet.

I would have requested a power strip from the front desk.
__________________
John
AMSTERDAM 2641 Alaska 7/02 | WESTERDAM 8010 Baltic 9/05 | NOORDAM 7124 Western Mediterranean 6/06 | VEENDAM 712 Western Caribbean 12/06 | Sovereign of the Seas 6556 Bahamas 4/07 | STATENDAM 394 Alaska Cruise-Tour 9/07 | ZUIDERDAM 8021 Eastern Caribbean 12/07 | AMSTERDAM 3385 Panama Canal transit 4/08 | EURODAM 4130 Bahamas 10/08 | NOORDAM 8009 Southern Caribbean 12/08 | NOORDAM 4178 Southern Caribbean 12/09 | NIEUW AMSTERDAM 8057 Eastern Mediterranean 9/10 | RYNDAM 394 Western Caribbean 12/10 | VEENDAM 418 Bermuda 10/11 | MAASDAM 404 3/12 | PRINSENDAM 303 Trans-Atlantic 5/13 | Disney Dream 10508 Bahamas 11/13


Last edited by jtl513; July 18th, 2013 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old July 21st, 2013, 03:42 PM
jplewis jplewis is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,320
Default

We were just on the Veendam a few weeks ago and our TV was Not plugged into the outlet on the dresser. I was able to use it to charge I Pad, etc.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old July 22nd, 2013, 11:28 AM
Swice's Avatar
Swice Swice is offline
Cool Cruiser
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 165
Default our cabin

We were in cabin M514 (main deck-- inside cabin for four).
__________________
Favorite: Holland America,
Cruised others: Princess, Carnival and United States Lines (Hawaii)
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old July 22nd, 2013, 12:01 PM
RuthC's Avatar
RuthC RuthC is offline
30,000+ Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warwick, R.I. , USA
Posts: 30,981
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swice View Post
We were in cabin M514 (main deck-- inside cabin for four).
Very strange. I am familiar with inside cabins, including insides on Main Deck, and have not run into that problem. Perhaps there was a problem with the usual TV outlet, and the TV was plugged in to the desk outlet until the regular one could be fixed???
__________________
Try www.halfacts.com for info on HAL

If the answer isn't "chocolate", you're asking the wrong question.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks


Ad Sponsored By
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.


© 1995 - 2014, The Independent Traveler, Inc. All rights reserved.
"A Community of People Who Love To Cruise"
All of the information contained within Cruise Critic is protected by copyright. You may, however, download a single copy only for your personal use.