**Jewel of the Seas 9.21.2013 Review**

Now, I’ve never done one of these before so go easy on me! This will be my first review for my recent southern Caribbean cruise onboard the Jewel of the Seas.

A little bit about me before we get this underway, shall we?

My name is Deon and I’m 31 years old. I went on my first cruise in September 2009 on the Liberty of the Seas and I quickly became obsessed. I was born and raised in Toronto, Canada and love to see as much of the world as I can and I feel that cruising is the best way for me to achieve this.

Now that that’s over, let’s get this started!

I took close to 800 pictures so I will have a lot of visuals for you throughout this review. I will also make special note of any tips that really helped me out. If you have any questions, please post them and I will answer. I still have the cruise compasses and I don't plan on scanning them, but if you have questions about when the shows and certain ship activities took place, I can let you know.

I booked this cruise in May 2012 as a solo trip for a birthday gift to myself. I’ve come to realize that I prefer cruising solo – I do what I want when I want and how I want, plus I get my own cabin! Since I was traveling alone, I just booked an inside cabin since I figured I wouldn’t be spending much time in the room.

I had originally planned to fly into San Juan the same day as the cruise, which departed on a Saturday, but I kept hearing so many good things about the city, so I quickly made changes to my flight and flew in the Thursday before sailing, giving me a day and a half to explore the city. To extend my vacation even more, I made arrangements to stay in a Toronto airport hotel on Wednesday night, since I had an early flight to San Juan.