From N. Houston to Galveston terminal....how long?

Grits53

In planning my drive to the port on a Sat. morning in mid April, how long should I allow myself to go from the north side of Houston to the Galveston terminal? Of course, I will allow some extra time, but I need a starting point. I have made this drive with DH driving several times, but I just never noticed how long it took for that portion of the trip. :o

What part of N Houston in? We are in Spring. We allow about 3 hours. We take 45 South to Beltway 8 and go east. We cross I-10, the bridge and stay on the Beltway to 45 South and then we go left on 45 towards Galveston. We will be doing this drive on the 2nd of March. You want to have extra time to park. We are going to drop our luggage at the terminal and then park at the Terminal lot and take a shuttle back to the terminal.:)

I can make the Bush Airport-Galveston run in a little over an hour on a Sunday morning with little traffic.:eek: Of course, I'm a professional limo driver. Please do not attempt at home. Naturally, I do this WITHOUT people in the car. I may be a lead foot, but I'm not crazy.

On a serious note....coming from the far north side of Houston I take the Hardy Toll Road to 610 East to I-59 South to I-45 South. I find this way as fast as any. On most weekend mornings traffic is relatively light, except during Spring Break.

Just remember, no matter how you choose to get through H-Town, cops are BAD on the Gulf Freeway(I-45) south of Houston. I mean, really bad.

I can make the Bush Airport-Galveston run in a little over an hour on a Sunday morning with little traffic.:eek: Of course, I'm a professional limo driver. Please do not attempt at home. Naturally, I do this WITHOUT people in the car. I may be a lead foot, but I'm not crazy.