Exeriences with shore excursions on Seadream?

shaskelly

Hi all

I wanted to get some feedback from you all about your experiences with shore excursions on SeaDream.

Do you normally book them before you embark? I've never done that before... worried about things getting cancelled if there are insufficient numbers, etc.

Do you think the excursions offered on SeaDream stack up to other lines? Great experiences and awful ones?

Love to hear what you've all done, loved, hated, and any recommendations or tips.

Thanks

Shaskelly

:)

Seadream's shore experiences are generally different from other lines, in that they are essentially for very active people who enjoy hiking, biking etc. IMO they are expensive. I think the SD equivalent of Cruise Director is an Activities Director; youngish and athletic. If this is what you like, you will enjoy them. However, I have not been on SD for several years; things may have changed.

We've done excursions on SeaDream and have always enjoyed them. I'm lazy on vacation so most of the ones we've chosen have been "non-active" excursions. I think it all depends if you like structure. We usually take an excursion if it sounds really interesting or fun and it doesn't seem like it would be something we could easily do on our own.

I forgot to answer you question about booking online. We've always booked onboard. There have been some times when they've cancelled because of too few participants. But each night during cocktail hours the activity director will usually mention which excursion hasn't hit the limit, and usually has good success in getting others to join up.

While not a paid excursion, one free excursion that can fill quickly in some ports is a bike ride with the captain, there are 10 bikes and first come first served so speak up when you get on board to make sure you have a spot if interested.

Sent using the Cruise Critic forums app