Regent Cruise Line??

Hobar

Hello fellow Seabourners,

Most of you, like me, adore Seabourn, although I have limited experience on other cruise lines. That said, has anyone ever been on Regent? I ask because I just received a booklet and went on-line and it looks quite nice as far as amenities, suites, restaurants, all-inclusive, etc. - all seem similar to the Seabourn model. There are some other itineraries, and I know that is one factor in selecting a cruise, but I would like to hear from fellow Seabourn cruisers who have been on Regent what your thoughts are about Regent?

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

Edited by Hobar

You will NEVER get me on Regent until they do away with the included excursions. Hobar, you mention all inclusiveness as one of the things you like but remember that included does not mean free. You are paying a hefty premium for the excursions up front in a higher fare whether you want to take them or not. Personally, I do not like ships' tours so it's a complete waste of money. Therefore I also resent their current comparison where they show that they are less expensive if you include what you would pay for excursions on Seabourn. Not to mention that the excursions they include are basic ones. Anything really good costs extra on Regent too. Of course, they neglect to mention that.

We have done several cruises on Regent Voyager - before they included the excursions - and apart from the fact that to get your money's worth you would have to go on lots of them, bear in mind that 700 passengers is a lot more than 450, and to my mind the cost always works out as a lot more per diem than Seabourn and is not worth the difference.

Also the rapport between staff and passengers is not quite what it is on Seabourn. Having said all that, it is still a very nice line, but no longer for us.

Hello fellow Seabourners,