White dinner jackets on a Cunard cruise black and white ball

Drunkensailor123

Hi, I'm brand new to cruising and this site so if this is in the wrong place I apologise. Just a quick question, we are going on a cruise on the Queen Victoria in December around Europe. Can men wear white dinner jackets to the black and white ball, I know white jackets aren't correct form in the winter and non tropical climes and as it's our first cruise I didn't want to get it wrong, can anyone help ?

Hi, I'm brand new to cruising and this site so if this is in the wrong place I apologise. Just a quick question, we are going on a cruise on the Queen Victoria in December around Europe. Can men wear white dinner jackets to the black and white ball, I know white jackets aren't correct form in the winter and non tropical climes and as it's our first cruise I didn't want to get it wrong, can anyone help ?

I wouldnt wear a white dinner jacket in European winter, but I have never noticed any comments on others doing so.

Drunkensailor123 --- You pose an unexpected question. Clearly, yes, you may wear the white dinner jacket, but I would suggest that perhaps it would be best (and simpler) to wear a black tuxedo or a dark suit. For one thing, since you specifically mention the Black & White Ball, why would you pack a white dinner jacket for a single night's dance? Besides, from my experience, no one particularly pays much attention to what a gentleman wears in terms of color at the Black & White Ball on a Cunard ship ---- it seems to me that it is treated primarily as just another formal night (unlike Valentine's or Mardi Gras, for example). A black tuxedo with a white shirt and a black bow tie seems to me to be the perfect and obvious easy choice for a Black & White Ball for a gentleman. You can wear the same outfit to every formal night dinner or ball!

And, yes, it is Winter in Europe --- not the Caribbean or the South Pacific. All the best.