Union discount

seekatz

Has anyone received a teacher union discount? I am CTA and NEA. I faxed in my card, and my request has been declined. Thanks for your help.

I know I read here that someone had gotten it...I have not tried myself...(as I am a retired teacher..and no longer belong to teachers union)

Did you try a search on this forum???

Has anyone received a teacher union discount? I am CTA and NEA. I faxed in my card, and my request has been declined. Thanks for your help.

In order to qualify the union has to be part of AFL-CIO. I am not familiar with CTA and NEA, but if they are part of the other, you should qualify.

Thanks for the information. saw some teachers had received it, but must have been part of a different union. Anyone else able to clarify.

Discounts are for AFL-CIO unions only.

One of the teachers' unions is AFT, American Federation of Teachers. AFT is part of AFL-CIO, so these teachers would have been able to receive the discount.

I am a retired teacher and AFT (American Federation of Teachers) is not active in my area since we are not unionized. However to get the cruise discount, I discovered on the AFT site http://www.aft.org/about/join.htm I could join as a basic associate member for $30/school year or $50/two school years. I called AFT at 202/879-4400 and was able to enroll immediately. Then I contacted my TA and got around $700 off our 1/2009 cruise even though I had already gotten a nice OBC and reduction in fare just a couple of weeks ago with the CLIA sale. Our $50 investment yesterday really paid off for us!

• 2 months later...

Just did a check on my union.

5% Discounts apply to all AFL-CIO Union Members, including CSEA.

What is nice, if the passenger is both a senior and an Union Member, he/she can apply the 5% discount on top of the Senior Rate if available.

Nice perk!