My trip report: Serenade 12-night Western Med (Venice) with many pictures

Background

Cruise vacations are what you make of them, so I always like including a little background information so that you can better understand some of my views. I’m a frequent cruiser (D+ C&A member) even though I’m still working on finishing up my PhD. Since I’m a graduate student, I am very interested in the cost of things. I booked this cruise a little over 30 days before it embarked on a Tuesday special. For this trip, I traveled solo. It was my fourth solo cruise, though by far my longest and first to new ports. I haven’t been to Europe since the late 1990s when I took my high school trip to France, so these ports were a completely new experience (with a relatively short time to plan for them).

This thread will be a combination of a trip report and review. I will offer opinions about the ship and stops, but I will also spend time detailing the port stops. Please feel free to ask questions and I will try to answer the to the best of my abilities.

Ship: Serenade of the Seas

Embarkation date: 05/17/2012

Length: 12 nights

Ports: Barcelona (Sp), Cannes (Fr), Livorno (It), Civitivecchia (It), Salerno (It), Venice (It), Ravenna (It), Split (Cr)

7311055166_9e91c60fb0.jpg

Columbus Statue by cmong, on Flickr

Getting Euros