Cruising Christine turns 40 on the Fascination: a Belated Review

bakersdozen12

Greetings!

This review will be of our cruise on the Fascination this past November. A tad late, but we went on some amazing non-Carnival excursions, and since I use Cruise Critic for all of my excursion research, I'm hoping someone will find this useful.

A little background: my name is Christine, and it's been 90 days since my last cruise. If that sounds like an introduction meant for an addiction meeting, it's because I am a total addict! I turned forty on this cruise (on Nov 9th), and I work in Finance at a non-profit. My cruising partner is my husband, Mark, age 48, a lab systems engineer at a very large pharmaceutical company in Boston. We reside in NH, although as soon as my son finishes college (he's a freshman), I'm hoping to convince my hubby to move someplace warmer. I hate the snow and cold weather.

Unfortunately this review is so late because our lives have been a little bit of a mess since getting back from this wonderful cruise. We came home to find out my father-in-law was hospitalized with a blood clot in his leg while we were gone. His health has been declining in recent years, so we continued to try to convince him to place my mother-in-law in a home, since she has dementia and can't take care of herself, and since it was becoming more apparent every day that he was become less able to take care of her himself.

Unfortunately he ended up passing away two days before Christmas. And my husband's uncle passed away three days before my father-in-law. To make a long story short, we've had to deal with funeral arrangements, nursing home searches and starting the process of obtaining guardianship of my mother-in-law so that we can place her.