My Review: Navigator of the Seas (2/19-2/23)

Quips, quirks, and biases One of the great things about cruise vacations is that, in many cases, they are what you make of them. Because of that, I always like to include this little introductory section where I describe where I'm coming from, as context definitely colors any review. I am a graduate student who loves to find travel deals and is very comfortable with handling all of his travel arrangements and traveling alone. This was my 12th cruise on Royal Caribbean, and 22nd cruise overall. I've been "loyal to Royal" lately because I like their ships, have received competitive pricing, enjoy the C&A perks, and enjoy the OBC I receive for NextCruise bookings. This cruise featured 2 sea days and a stop in Cozumel.

This cruise was booked 4 weeks before departure. It was booked during standard pricing, so I was able to use my last NextCruise that I had been unable to use previously because I'd been booking "Happy Hour" specials. This particular cruise was booked because I was looking for a) something short, b) something with a decent mix of low-cost cruisefare and airfare available and c) a schedule that would minimize school/work time missed. It was also my "birthday" cruise because I turned 29 a few days before departure.

I'll also state right here that some of my review, especially in the beginning, will be presented in a more narrative format with the actual review sections coming later. I will, as always, highlight positives and areas I see for improvement.

Pre-Cruise

Flight

Since it was winter, I really wanted to fly in the day before the cruise left. Since I have a class to teach on Wednesday morning, I booked an afternoon flight on AirTran that traveled direct from Indianapolis to Fort Lauderdale. The flight went exactly as scheduled and arrived at FLL at about 7 PM.

Hotel