Jump to content

macsford

Members
  • Posts

    128
  • Joined

Everything posted by macsford

  1. dthompson1, you might find this of interest. Last year we had booked with Cunard to arrange our flight to Toronto instead of New York before our planned crossing from New York to Southampton. It was arranged for nearly 2 weeks earlier so that we could visit our family in Toronto first . I believe it was the same price. (It depends whether there is any difference in the BA prices available when booking.) We chose which flight we wanted including the internal flight to Heathrow. We had to pay for the flight to Toronto along with our deposit as it was a deviation from Cunard's block booking. Of course, it was cancelled and we booked the same for September 2021. Also now cancelled. The point is that we found it really easy to make this change through Cunard. Much easier than trying to arrange a one way ourselves. In both cases we were arranging ourselves only our transfer from Toronto to New York before the crossing. We really hope to make it happen in 2022. How wonderful it will be to arrive back in England without the jetlag and best of all without the horrors of Heathrow before the internal flight to the North of England. We will hire a car one way rental Southampton to Harrogate (surprisingly cheap.)
  2. Originally booked for September 2020 on QM2 TA. Rebooked for 12 September this year. Over the last few months it has looked unlikely that this would sail so at least it is good to have the confirmation in plenty of time. Now considering whether to book anything for the rest of this year.
  3. Thank you, I really enjoyed your story. We have cruised quite a bit but never Cunard. We had booked our first crossing on QM2 for September this year and have rebooked for next September . You have shown that it really will be special and hope I that it will be the first of many for you and for us. I also find so much useful information on C.C. and am grateful to all who take the trouble to pass on their information and experiences. I miss the trip reports as none of us has had a trip for a while! We must all hope for the vaccine and many more happy times. Would be pleased if you gave us a further report on your crossing.
  4. I don't know if it is different because we are in the UK but we rebooked a few days ago and got the 25%. We did not pay any further deposit; the previous deposit was applied to the new booking. We were happy with that.
  5. Hi BlueRiband We telephoned Cunard and were able to get agreement to protect our money paid so far as it was obvious that the announcement would have to come very soon. Which we now know it did, even though it was after our final date.Unfortunately a call to them several days earlier would not give that agreement and caused a lot of anxiety. We have now received the email and , as promised, have the option of money back or 125% FCC. We are considering those options . So ended well (eventually). Thank you for your encouragement, BlueRiband. Sandra
  6. Hello Roger and Chris Spoke to Cunard this morning. The final balance for our 4 September 14 night TA then second week on board to Quebec was due on 6 June. We don't want the 125% cruise credit on the full amount as next year's Canada/New England itineraries do not appeal : just want the TA and do not have time in our schedule to use more between the time we feel comfortable cruising again and the expiry date of the future credit. We have agreed that our deposit plus pre paid airfare is protected even though we are not paying the balance, so will get the 125% on the money already paid. We also had to prepay our airfare as we wanted to return from Toronto instead of Quebec so are happy with this arrangement. (Previous emails were not answered , only a standard acknowledgement which did not address any of our questions.) An announcement to cancel Canada cruises is apparently expected this week. I would suggest that those with an imminent final balance date should telephone if the announcement does not come this week. Unfortunately I have to agree that Cunard hasn't performed well on this occasion and has caused a lot of additional uncertainty, but am now satisfied with our outcome. I hope that that information is useful. Sandra
  7. Hi Chris and Roger I hope to have an update when we phone Cunard tomorrow. On Saturday we phoned 3 times and after pressing a variety of buttons with a variety of options (you know how it works!) each time it went to cut off. The intention was to discuss this ridiculous situation with them and ask for a week's extension. We expect to get through tomorrow and reach some amicable agreement. If necessary I shall ask a very devious question : If we transfer our booking to the same thing leaving Southampton on 2 October this year , that would give us an extra 26 days before final payment. It is still showing as for sale. Of course, we all know that will also be cancelled. I don't remember seeing anything to say we can't do that. Just a lot of trouble for all of us and the same end result. Just wish I had thought of it sooner. Will let you know what happens. Sandra
  8. Thank you for that, Blue Riband. Looks like it's going to be an anxious few days for us to make a decision. Looks like they are dictating their rules to their advantage and I am so disappointed in what I believed to be a more customer orientated business than this . After all, a happy customer is a repeat customer who will also recommend therefore it is good business practice.
  9. Thank you for your responses Captn Poldark and phbr. This morning Cunard are still selling 4th September TA, New England and Canada. We have cruised quite a few times but this was our first with Cunard . We had said that maybe in future we would cross with Cunard either before or after our annual visit to family in Toronto. A good way to arrive without jetlag or even better to avoid it when returning home! However, I am so disappointed in how they are handling this that at the moment I don't want to do business with them again. Unfortunately they hold more of our money than usual at this stage as they said we had to pay in full for our return flights from Toronto instead of Quebec. No problem if all had gone to plan. We now have to decide our way forward with this and be thankful that in these times our family are all safe and well, which we all know is much more important.
  10. Very disillusioned with Cunard. Our final payment due 6 June for Canada/New England. It won't happen, Canada won't allow it, but if we don't pay we are deemed to have cancelled and lose our money paid so far. Other lines have cancelled their Canada cruises, why not Cunard? Why can't they do the decent thing and cancel with all that entails?
  11. Very disillusioned with Cunard. Our final payment due 6 June for Canada/New England. It won't happen, Canada won't allow it, but if we don't pay we are deemed to have cancelled and lose our money paid so far. Other lines have cancelled their Canada cruises, why not Cunard? Why can't they do the decent thing and cancel with all that entails?
  12. Will let you know what happens. I intend trying to phone in a few days to ask for an extension on final payment date but certainly not optimistic about that Yes, if the situation next September is appropriate we would book the return Transatlantic only as we wanted the crossing with the orchestra. However, the Canada/New England itineraries next year don't appeal to us so we would add on some sort of land tour while visiting family. BUT we would like to decide about that much later, not give a long term loan to Cunard to feel pressurised next year. Meantime, hoping that they will do the honourable thing....... Sandra
  13. Hi Roger We are due final payment by 6 June. As we intended visiting son and family in Toronto we were to fly back from there instead of Quebec. Same price but Cunard said we had to pay them the full air fare in advance as well as cruise deposit so they are holding more of our money than is usual at this stage. If they do not in the next few days give us notice of cancellation , It looks like we would lose that money if we do not make the final payment. Not acceptable. Neither is it reasonable to expect us to make the final payment as the cruise obviously will not happen. I emailed Cunard this morning as we booked direct with them. Looks like we are going to have a tense week. Could be interesting to see how quickly various companies respond to the extended closure of Canadian ports . Sandra
  14. https://www.cbc.ca/news/politics/cruise-ship-october-1.5589821 Thank you for that, kmerlin 14 Am I reading correctly that the QM2 departing New York on September 11 finishing with an overnight in Quebec will not be able to continue. Or will there be a way for Cunard to avoid cancelling? We are booked Transatlantic from Southampton on September 4 followed by the week from New York to Quebec. It is booked as one journey. Final payment due next week so we would prefer Cunard to cancel.
  15. I totally agree. We have booked 4 September TA to New York then second week onboard to Quebec. Even if this goes ahead which is very unlikely we would not want to go. We either have to pay the balance by 6 June and hope it is cancelled or commit to transferring to next year to avoid losing our deposit. If the balance was due at 60 days there would be a much clearer picture and probably a cancellation notice with the option of a refund. Whilst we will go next year if it seems safe to do so, we would prefer to make that decision in our own time.
  16. We also are in our 70s and don't want to cruise for at least a year. We have a cruise booked for September (Southampton to New York then second week to Quebec) and because we wanted to return from Toronto instead of Quebec we had to pay Cunard the full airfare as well as the cruise deposit which makes it a bigger amount than we are prepared to lose by cancelling. Like others we can either transfer the booking to next year or pay the balance and hope the cruise is cancelled . I am feeling that we are pressured into committing to cruising next year because they won't say if the cruise is cancelled until after our final payment is made.
  17. We (2 Brits) spent 5 days in Boston so had time to see all we needed to see. The day we went to JFK Presidential Library and Museum was a highlight of our stay. We had time to use public transport but if time is short it is worth the taxi or uber fare. Sandra
  18. Norris, many thanks for that great picture. I love the whole County, the peninsula is all beautiful and what a great helicopter ride it must have been. Sandra
  19. we are attending a destination wedding in Ireland in August and were looking at United's Premium Economy seats (is that what you meant above)? If so, what did you think of them? Wish we could swing the Business class there, but will probably just do the Premium Economy both ways. Hi pd 7277 I can't comment on United but have lots of experience with BA. My own thoughts are that business class would probably be worth it flying East if I could sleep on a flight. The reality is that I cannot sleep. Probably not worth a lot for a daylight flight. As a frequent transatlantic traveller my thought is that for me Premium Economy is worth every penny, or in your case every cent. Lots more room, seat inclines more, footrest, small cabin and some other extras. Does not cost a great amount more than economy but is a lot less than Business class. Enjoy Ireland. Sandra.
  20. Where does your sister live in N Ireland? I haven't traveled much in my own birthplace I will admit and know England better. Carol is gung-ho on TA crossings, me-Mr Port Excursion Man, less so, but I have said that if I do one it will have to be on Queen Mary 2, built for that purpose. Hopefully we will do such a thing when retired. Norris, My sister is still in Bangor, where I grew up for 18 years, followed by 3 years in Belfast (R.V.H.) where I met John . Rest of my life in England South then North. That's how I recognise any youthful references and pictures of yours . I too had reservations about 6 days at sea but aim to enjoy everything QM2 can offer. When it works out this time we can try the Eastbound because that jetlag is harder. The downside Eastbound on a ship is only 23 hour days to enjoy it but I'm sure we could cope! Our younger son, in Toronto for the last 16 years, recommends your city, Chicago for a few days on one of our visits to them ; it may happen as we always add something on to our visit. Last year was Alaska cruise which was my best ever for my Big Birthday. Looking forward to seeing you in January, Sandra
  21. Norris, as always I have enjoyed your narrative, great photos, humour and musical references (nobody does it better. ) This time, as well as enjoying Norway, you have reminded me that London is only 4 hours by car or, more sensibly, nearly half that by train from North Yorkshire. It has been too long since our last to London and it is time to return there soon. Beautiful N. Ireland another not visited often enough place coming soon too with my sister's Big Birthday there in March. John and I have most of our biggest trips your side of the ocean as it works so well with a visit to half our family in their home in Toronto and we enjoy every one. Next year will be a first for us; first time Cunard, first TA. QM2 Southampton to New York then another week on the ship to Quebec before the visit to Toronto. We have time now to go this way after all those years at work. The flight back to Heathrow will be the low point ! We enjoy wherever we go and feel privileged to have seen so much of our wonderful world. Thank you to Carol and yourself for giving so much time and effort to share your journeys, many of us enjoy them with you Looking forward to the next time, Sandra
  22. Looking forward to your review and excellent as always pictures. We had a land trip in Norway about 15 years ago, car ferry overnight from Newcastle. A return by cruise ship from Southampton would be even better . Will be following every morning, a good way to start the day. Sandra
  23. I agree with Milokama that Warnemunde is one to miss except that my husband and I booked with Friends of Dave for a full day tour starting from Warnemunde. We had a wonderful full day tour in a small group. Our guide was Christian as Dave was not available. We went to Schwerin a lovely and interesting place and had other stops too. We did not want to spend 3 hours each way going to Berlin . It was a highlight of the cruise along with our 2 days in St. Petersburg with Alla tours . Alla took care of visas and all arrangements worked so well. We booked a walking tour in Tallinn. Other ports we used public transport . In Stockholm, the Vasa museum is easy to access on your own. Yes, it is worth getting up early for the sail in. Sandra
×
×
  • Create New...