1st Time Solo Cruising

stevenscott704

Hello All,

Newbie here. I am looking into doing my first solo/single cruise. There are so many options to choose from, I don't even know where to start. Can anyone recommend a great first cruise for a 47 year old single male. My preference is a Caribbean destination. I am not looking to go broke on this - Just a nice relaxing getaway!

Sorry if I am not providing you with much info!

Steve

I am 45 and travel solo often. I really like NCL the best. I would search for the Escape / Getaway out of Miami and look at a studio cabin. I really like the experience and they get together every night so you never have to eat dinner alone. I have always met lots of people and had a great time.

Be aware that most cruise lines will charge a single supplement price so you will pay from 175% - 200% more than 2 people booking a room. Sometimes you might find a line that is offering no supplement cruises but they are far and few between.

I am not sure that the quoted single supplement is correct. Rates you see posted are based on two per cabin. Someone traveling solo will pay the rate that would be in effect for two persons, or up to 200% of the single person rate. Example, if the rate quoted is $200/person and you want to go single, you may pay $400 for that cruise. :)

I've been considering a solo cruise too. From my research the best way to go for the most bang for your buck is going with NCL in their studio cabins. Only a handful of their ships have them. There are some bloggers I love that did a tour of the studio cabins and lounge, check it out. Just search Sea Cruisers channel on YouTube and look for a playlist of their group cruise and then within that you should be able to easily find the video.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Forums mobile app

Hello All,