Itinerary Change. Am I being reasonable?

badtzmaru

Hi everyone,

I am new to CC, and have only been on 5 or 6 cruises, but wanted a little feedback about my recent experience.

My partner and I are engaged, and were looking at wedding options earlier this year. I have cruised with NCL twice before, and I felt like they were gay friendly and very inclusive. We decided we would take a cruise and get married at one of the destination ports, with a few of our friends along for the ride.

After reviewing several of the options from the East Coast ports (we are based in NC, so I normally sail out of FL or NY), we decided on the Eastern Caribbean cruise after we located an officiant, photographer, and venue in St. Thomas (Being a US Virgin Island, the paperwork would be easier as well).

As we began nailing down dates, the storm predictions began. We decided to wait until after the major storms in Aug/Sept passed to book. Our contacts in St. Thomas took photos for us after the storms, and said that the number of cruises in and out of St. Thomas could be restricted, but they thought based on the other areas of the islands, I should contact my cruise line just to be sure.

Prior to booking, I called NCL to ask about the Eastern Itinerary. There were cruises still listed for Oct/Nov/Dec for the Epic Eastern Caribbean. I asked if the itinerary had been updated, and was advised it had not at that point, and would only be changed if additional storms impacted the areas.

After our conversation with NCL, we booked our venue, photographer, officiant, and December 2nd cruise. I even sent my marriage application to St. Thomas with the $200 fee.