Did I click on something to make my font and size of the font change? HELP PLEASE

Report Bugs & Glitches

Report Glitches and Bugs You Find

Please Use New Thread Button

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
All times are GMT -4.
The time now is 09:43 PM.
#1
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Ok....I am typing on here and for some reason the font and the size are smaller than normal.......once I hit submit they get 1 size larger AND the font changes.....and my Icons are not working correctly.........is there someone who can help me? Why is this happening? It just started doing this and it is really funky. Did I click on something not realizing what I did?

Can someone help me out here........please

Thank you.
#2
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Is there are moderator out there who can try and give me some help with this please?
#3
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
Maybe switching off and on again will fix it? If it is still doing it
what system are you on PC Laptop Mac Ipad phone and what browser
Firefox Safari Chrome IE other. Quick thing to try go into post reply
type a few words then in the toolbar at the top click the aA icon
- is that the problem ? Which Icons are not working.
#4
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Originally posted by Aulanis
Maybe switching off and on again will fix it? If it is still doing it
what system are you on PC Laptop Mac Ipad phone and what browser
Firefox Safari Chrome IE other. Quick thing to try go into post reply
type a few words then in the toolbar at the top click the aA icon
- is that the problem ? Which Icons are not working.
Hi, I use Google Chrome and have never had any issues with it........and yes, I am on a laptop from Dell. The icons
are working but not in a correct way....when you usually click on it shows up where you want it to.....now when I click
it doesn't show up until AFTER I post.........makes no sense
#6
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
I don't get it.........oh well........I see the A in the right corner........what does the represent? Other than the letter A?
#7
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
The A in the aA icon doesnt stand for anything it is there so if something doent work you can check if
it is a "code" problem
aaaaaaBBBBBBBcccccccccDDD
Go into reply and type something then in BOLD then in Italics
Click on the aA and you will see it changed and the code letters inserted.

If you just type something normally when you press the aA it doesnt add any code but the font does change to what you will see when the
post is read.

I now dont think this is your problem but it is something easy to check.

Which icons are working unusually?

Has Chrome been updated lately?
Can you try with another browser InternetEexplorer is normally installed with windows?
#8
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
Something Else to check is to see if you have changed something in
EDIT OPTIONS - you get here by clciking on your name -top left
and it is in the drop down. In edit options you will find this "
Message Editor Interface
When posting messages to the forums or other members, there are three interface types available to you. The simplest of these is a simple text box, while the last is a fully-fledged WYSIWYG editor, which allows you to format your text as you want it and see the results immediately.

Depending upon the capabilities of your web browser, you may not be able to use all of these options. If you experience problems when posting messages, try switching to a different interface type.
Message Editor Interface

This is a more permanent way of doing what the aA icon does
Could be that you have changed this by some key press ?
I dont know what key press but I know sometimes I press
the ctrl key instead of "upper case" arrowup key and if the i start to type begins with I then i will get the rest in italics or If it begins with b it will change to bold and so on

Something else to try would be to log out of CC and close all CC tabs
then delete all CC cookies then go back into CC and see if it is fixed.
After that all I can think of would be to reinstall Chrome.
#9
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Thanks for trying to help me,,,,,,I appreciate it.
#10
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Looks like this is something to do with that A in the right corner........when I click on it the font comes up correctly
But why should I have to click on that A everytime I post? IT makes NO SENSE...........I wish a moderator or someone who is in technical support would answer this for me.
#11
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
Techs are very few and far between I have only ever seen one once - made 2 posts then disappeared.

Mods I dont know how far their tech knowledge extends beyond the realms of CC. Host Clarea (Bob) is the mod for this forum he might have come across the same problem before. Maybe try an email
to [email protected] I dont know for certain that that is a good address but I have seen other mods with a similar address.
Point him to this thread
https://boards.cruisecritic.com/show....php?t=2596368


You can try emailing [email protected]
maybe point the to this thread to save having to repeat it all.

Did you check what message edititor system it says you have?
Scroll up to blue line
click on name
in dropdown click on edit options
scroll right down to the last paragraph.
What option does it say you are using?
Make a note of it then try one of the others.
NOTE SAVE changes!!
I cant spot on my system (windows 7 laptop with firefox) any difference whichever I pick But
Chrome might handle it differently.
#12
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Hi, thanks for trying to help me.......you should get a job on CC
#13
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
I see you have tried in the other forum - I will refrain from going in.
but another thing to try and narrow it down.
I have realised that by ICONS you mean the Smilies?
So I guess you must be using the "Post Reply" button.?
If so what does it do when you use Quick Reply and just type in the box?
In there you cant use smilies unless you know the codes for them
Colon Bracket open bracket yn close bracket
To test further go to quick reply then click on the "Go advanced" box
and see what heppens there when you start typing.
#14
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Originally posted by Aulanis
I see you have tried in the other forum - I will refrain from going in.
but another thing to try and narrow it down.
I have realised that by ICONS you mean the Smilies?
So I guess you must be using the "Post Reply" button.?
If so what does it do when you use Quick Reply and just type in the box?
In there you cant use smilies unless you know the codes for them
Colon Bracket open bracket yn close bracket
To test further go to quick reply then click on the "Go advanced" box
and see what heppens there when you start typing.
I have pretty much tried everything........changed the options......saved them, used the quick reply, .......
Something happened in the last few days to change it on me........I never did anything to make the change (unless I hit something by accident)........thanks again......not sure what happened or how to reverse what happened.

I appreciate you taking the time to try and help me though
#15
Preston UK
2,247 Posts
Joined Nov 2014
Chrome had a new version release on 24Jan18 depending on your update diary it could have been later than that when it was implemented.
It seems odd that no-one else has reported having a problem which makes me think re installing Chrome might be the way to go.
I will start a thread asking if anyone has had problems since the update.
#16
San Diego, CA
6,982 Posts
Joined Sep 2001
I'm also having this issue. Just started happening the other day. I hope someone can come up with a solution.
#17
SoCal
11,425 Posts
Joined Apr 2009
In the quick reply window (when I type out a post) the font is like Times New Roman and kinda small (but readable). But when I click the post reply button the actual post is in Arial at a large size. It's been like that since the switch to the new format.

I'm guessing that's not how it's supposed to be?
Expand Signature
Collapse Signature
DCLHAL Carnival Princess Vantage
22 Cruises, 13 ships, 217 nights
#18
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Originally posted by Shmoo here
In the quick reply window (when I type out a post) the font is like Times New Roman and kinda small (but readable). But when I click the post reply button the actual post is in Arial at a large size. It's been like that since the switch to the new format.

I'm guessing that's not how it's supposed to be?
Hi, it is not supposed to be that way and it is the same EXACT thing that has been happening to me for at least a week now.
#19
Jacksonville, FL USA
49,959 Posts
Joined Jan 2003
Originally posted by KroozNut
I'm also having this issue. Just started happening the other day. I hope someone can come up with a solution.
WOW.....so now there are 3 of us having the same problem.........maybe someone can tell us how to fix it.....although none of the mods have replied...........
#20
USA
2,271 Posts
Joined Aug 2012
Originally posted by Lois R
Hi, I use Google Chrome and have never had any issues with it........and yes, I am on a laptop from Dell. The icons
are working but not in a correct way....when you usually click on it shows up where you want it to.....now when I click
it doesn't show up until AFTER I post.........makes no sense
I'm having the same problems with the icons. They don't appear when I click on them and they don't always appear where the cursor was when I clicked on the icon.
Expand Signature
Collapse Signature
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]