Canadian River Cruise

1westover

Help, please!

We are contemplating taking our 11 year grandson on a river cruise next summer. He is mature enough to learn from the experience.

I would appreciate any suggestions or ideas:confused: from someone who has had experience.

Thank you so much.

You might want to check out St. Lawrence Cruise Lines. They have cruises between Kingston and Ottawa Ontario and Kingston and Québec City. Both have stops in Montréal. I have no experience with them, but the itineraries look interesting.

We did the Kingston to Montreal R/T on the Canadian Empress

it was a cute ship but the cabins are very cozy

Lyn

I took the St. Lawrence cruise from Montreal a few years back -- review and info is here: http://www.cruisecritic.com/reviews/cruiseline.cfm?CruiseLineID=78. It was a fun experience though primarily geared to seniors. If your grandson wants a lot of activity and recreation it might not be the right trip for him. On the other hand, if he's pretty good about entertaining himself, it's a lovely experience.

Carolyn

Carolyn Spencer Brown

Editor in Chief

Cruise Critic

You might want to consider taking your grandson on a Road Scholar (formerly Elderhostel) program. There aren't very many cruises among their intergenerational programs but here's something that I thought looked like a decent alternative:

http://www.roadscholar.org/programs/programdetail.asp?rowid=1%2BLY%2B692

Searching their website might also give you some other ideas.

Happy travels.

Also before you get your heart set on a river cruise please check the age limits. Some companies allow no one under the age of 12. Uniworld does family cruises in europe in the summer--geared toward grandparents amd grandchildren. Also don't know of any cabins that have room for more than 2 people. We have been on 14 river cruises and sailed with 5 lines.

Pat