DoD Civilians?

Cruizer Bill

• 4 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

I've been working for the Air Force for over 32 years. It's too bad that the cruise lines don't extend any benefits to DoD civilians, especially since I've served overseas and have recently been asked to deploy just like the active duty.

I was TDY to Operation PROVIDE COMFORT and the military I travelled with received hazardous duty pay, family separation, and tax-free earnings, but as a civilian, I didn't get any of those benefits even though we were all on the same orders. Since my own government didn't provide those benefits, I guess I could understand why the cruise lines don't either.

I've been working for the Air Force for over 32 years. It's too bad that the cruise lines don't extend any benefits to DoD civilians, especially since I've served overseas and have recently been asked to deploy just like the active duty.

I was TDY to Operation PROVIDE COMFORT and the military I travelled with received hazardous duty pay, family separation, and tax-free earnings, but as a civilian, I didn't get any of those benefits even though we were all on the same orders. Since my own government didn't provide those benefits, I guess I could understand why the cruise lines don't either.

Civil service does not provide these benefits because you get the joy and ability of being able to quit your job without being put in jail! I did 6 years military before becoming a DOD civilian. If we got the same benefits and privileges as the military then why on earth would anyone even consider joining the military!

Civil service does not provide these benefits because you get the joy and ability of being able to quit your job without being put in jail! I did 6 years military before becoming a DOD civilian. If we got the same benefits and privileges as the military then why on earth would anyone even consider joining the military!