Space Saver type bags??

PictureNana

I'm looking at Space Saver type bags for my upcoming cruise next month. Ones you roll the air out, not ones you have to use a vacuum. Are these necessary? Do you use them? I've never used them before. In the past I have rolled my clothes and used packing cubes. This has worked for me in the past, but I'm overwhelmed by all the layers we need to bring to Alaska. Any thoughts on using space saver bags? Any recommendations on a certain brand that people like. I see lots of options on Amazon. Thanks for any help.

I started using them when we had a 31 day LA to Rio cruise where the weather ranged from 110 degrees in Rio to the 40s in Tierra del Fuego. They worked as advertised and we had no problem getting jackets, fleece, multiple pairs of shoes, lightweight clothes, heavyweight clothes, and lots of toiletries in our suitcases. Next week we are taking the entire family on an Alaskan cruise (round trip Seattle) and one of the cruise gifts I gave our 2 kids, spouses and granddaughter was space saver bags. Another gift was a luggage scale so they can make sure they don't go over their weight limit! The clothes weigh the same with or without the bags but with the bags you need to be careful not to fill all the 'extra' space with weighty things.

I bought the bags on Amazon (https://www.amazon.com/Travel-Storage-Bags-Clothes-Compression/dp/B06WGTNF6Z/). I've used them multiple times with no issues other than breaking one or two of the clips used to seal them. Each bag comes with its own clip when in reality you only need one clip per package so you have plenty of extras.

Enjoy your cruise!

Edited by capriccio