The State Department has issued new regulations which make it necessary to travel with a passport when entering or re-entering the U.S. from the Caribbean, Bermuda, Panama, Mexico and Canada. The regulations apply to visitors as well as returning citizens and start to come into effect at the end of this year. The changes in travel requirements will affect all United States citizens entering the United States from countries within the Western Hemisphere who do not currently possess valid passports. Most Canadian citizens, citizens of Bermuda and some Mexican citizens will also be affected. Visit the State Department's web site for the official information: a description of the new requirements and a timeline of the impending changes.