Memory Card question

bingo3

I read in another post that someone's memory card had "died" and they lost all the pictures? I am new to the digital world and have 512 MB SD cards. I didn't realize they could "die". Do you get any warning, or is there a guide as to how long they would last??

Thanks!

Not quite sure what they meant by "died"; I guess they meant to say it stopped working. I've been using memory cards in digital cameras for about five years and I've never had one stop working so I would not worry about this happening. Just be sure to buy a quality card from a reputable vendor and I don't think you'll have any problems.

About the same amount of experience here, and no problems. I used to have some compatibility problems years ago, but that's long gone. I also read dpreview.com quite a bit. Enough to know this is a very rare occurance. That said, if you're really concerned, get a CD burner, and backup your photos periodically.

One of my memory cards corrupted & I lost all most of the pictures. I reformated it, upon advice of the dealer, & it worked for a while & then corrupted again. I bought another card & have not had any trouble with that at all.

I read in another post that someone's memory card had "died" and they lost all the pictures? I am new to the digital world and have 512 MB SD cards. I didn't realize they could "die". Do you get any warning, or is there a guide as to how long they would last??

Thanks!

I have been using Compact Flash cards for over 5 years. I have approx 15 cards that I use on a regular basis and most of these cards are 4+ years old. I have only had one card 'fail'. I do tend to stick to 'name brand' cards - like SanDisk, Lexar and Kingston.