Forum Maintenance: Wednesday March 20 @5:00 am ET Read more... ×
Cruise Critic Community

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Nitra22

Need help re: Westerdam nightmare on New Year's Eve Cruise

Newbie here, been lurkering for awhile - LOVE these boards!

Was wondering if I could get some advice regarding the Westerdam cruise that my parents are currently on (sailed Dec 27 from Ft. Lauderdale). It has been an absolute nightmare, and I was wondering what kind of compensation/credit (if any) they should get and how they should get it.

Some background...

-They are in SS6108

-They booked their airfare through HAL (terrible flight with many stopovers)

-They are celebrating their 30th anniversary on this cruise

The gruesome details...

-They were caught in that awful holiday airport shuffle, and their luggage was lost. They made a claim and waited as long as they could, but finally had to board the ship. Someone from HAL was supposed to make arrangements for their luggage to get to the next port, but no one seems to know what's happening. HAL has, however, provided formalwear rentals and $100 room credit

-They were laundering their clothes everynight and this morning their clothes arrived stained! Since they were at port, all the shops on the ship were closed, so they had nothing to wear. After a few frantic calls, their clothes were re-washed and most of the stains came out.

-while waiting for their clothes they ordered room service and the food never arrived. More phone calls were made, and room service sent some chocolate-covered strawberries.

-Before they left I bought them a "romance package" which included a massage. My mom tried to book it on the first day, but there were no openings left for the rest of the cruise. The manager suggested she go on a waiting list.