statendam inside cabins

dszrew

We're planning a 2011 Alaska cruise, most likely northbound on Statendam. Any recommendations for good inside cabins? We have two boys so were thinking of booking two insides next to each other, cheaper than 4 of us in a verandah, more room, and two bathrooms.

Any recommendations on inside cabins and locations? Anyone been in the four aft M cabins on deck 5? Why would these 4 be a lower category than the L cabins a bit more forward?

What about L417/423 on deck 6?

Seen recommendations for J345 (we could get two together here). Any other good spots?

I'm a veteran cave-dweller on every class of ship. I highly recommend the J-category cabins on Lower Promenade. They are a generous size, and are convenient to the great outdoors. In Alaska, this is a plus. They are located between the forward atrium and the aft staircase, so the ride is as smooth as it's going to get.

If you book two of these, make sure they open to the same passageway. And take a look to be sure you are not under the galley area; too far back will be.

The next choice would be the K-cabins direcly below, on Main Deck. The cabins are the same size (all the "large" insides are the same size) as the J-cabins. Again, very close to the outdoors. These cabins are sandwiched between two passenger decks, so are quiet.

Stay away from the "standard" insides. They are far too small.

I can see why the J cabins on Deck 6 are good--just a few steps out to the deck. I'd definitely prefer those to the K's on Deck 5 as there is no outer deck on that level.

Is there an outside deck aft on deck 5 from the L and M cabins? so if we had M693 could we just step out back and watch the wake, or go up one level to the deck on level 6?

what's in the open aft area on deck 4? would we be getting noise if we were up on deck 5?

You're confusing me when you use deck numbers, as the same deck name has different numbers on different ships. The deck names are almost consistent.