Questions

AlanM03

My wife and I have been cruising on cruise ships for about 10 years now and we are thinking about trying out a tall ship cruise like Windstar, starclipper or windjammer. The one issue that concerns my wife is the movement of the ship. She is prone to motion sickness and takes bonine when we cruise. Do these tall ships move alot more than the cruise ships? What is the average age group of those who cruise the tall ships? What is a typical day like on one of these ships. Any information is appreciated. Thanks......

We were on the Star Clipper in December. The ship is great, and we had a great time on her. The ship sails most of the time, and has all the movement of a sailboat. The movement is much more than on any cruise ship. It was a great sensation, being "rocked" to sleep at night, and eating dinner while heeled over, catching the occasional moving glass, but I think someone prone to seasickness might not be happy. We had one dinner when several passengers were missing because of sea sickness.

There were a wide range of ages on our sailing, from honeymoon couples to people in their 80s, but most people were in their 40s-60s. About half the passengers were European. No children.

The days seemed to revolve around eating, port excursions and watching the ship sail. Very impressive when they raise the sails! Lots of time to lie on deck, and lots of open deck chairs. Evening entertainment was decidely lowkey - listening to the piano player, talking in the bar, and several nights of organized games. We had a great time, and would definitely sail on them again, but I think you need to enjoy the "sailing" part of the equation.