Is a Noon flight possible???

vavasmom

We are on the Serenade next July - the flight booking window is opening up next week and I want to book now because AA has reasonable rates. My concern is the only non-stop on AA back to Washington Dulles (IAD) leaves at 12:05. It is also about 110 per person less expensive than flights with connections and the connecting flight arrives back just before midnight.

Based on people with Serenade/San Juan experience - can we make this flight? How hard is it to get a taxi to the airport at Pan Am Pier? What is the typical wait for immigration and customs there? (We are US Citizens if that matters)

I know that traffic in OSJ on Sunday can be a nightmare but we dock at Pan Am Pier (not sure about traffic on the rest of the island). I have flown from SJU before so I know the agricultural line is unpredictable (but I have no Sunday airport experience). My memory is that it took awhile to get through security also - but I have always traveled during the week.

The other option I am considering is staying one night in San Juan (I am already planning on 2 night pre-cruise) and fly home at noon the next day.

This question gets asked a lot. I think the rumors that it is difficult to get through the airport are overblown. I've flown in and out of San Juan three times and never encountered any problems. Two of my trips to San Juan were to sail n the Serenade (you will love her). The ships clears customs and starts letting people off around 8 am. They give cruisers approximate departure times depending on their flight schedule. You should be able to easily make any noonish flight. My earliest flight was 11 am.