Cruise Critic Community

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

big al

Help! Seeing lots of negative reviews and posts on Westerdam-convince me!

Hey guys-My wife & I are sailing the Westerdam Thanksgiving week and have an SS suite.It's our first HAL cruise.We've done Princess(our fav),Celebrity(our least fav),Carnival,RCL,and NCL(2nd fav).As a PT cruise agent I wanted to try the new HAL ships-bigger,more modern,and we wanted to visit Tortola.

But lately I've read alot posts saying that service is poor,food is somewhat mediocore,and just some dissatisfaction amongst many of you.If you had a great cruise,please tell me and why.If you had a negative experience,also let me know..we are considering cancelling and doing either the new Caribbean Princess or the soon to be NCL Jewel....Thanks!

Big Al

I'm beginning to question my decision to book the Westerdam too. When we booked in January, it came out very highly in the CC polls, but I've read so many negative reviews since, that I don't know what to do for the best. It's a bit difficult for us as we are flying in from England, so if we cancel and switch to another cruise line, we have a very small window of opportunity. We could switch to the Millennium (Celebrity), which leaves the same day, but we were attracted to HAL as for the first time ever could treat ourselves to a Suite. The suites on Celebrity were way too expensive.

I'm hoping that the majority of people who sail the Westerdam were happy, but just don't post!!

Sue