Zuiderdam Customer Service

Heaven2

I debated whether to post another message about our Zuiderdam back to back cruise. Do people really want to hear about the problems or has it become politically incorrect to expect good customer service ?

To introduce myself, I worked in the computer industry for twenty years as an operations manager for a national computer company. Our whole business depended on our customer service response. Any of the competitors could sell and install networks, but we had to have the added value factor or as IBM would say the "wow" factor. A customer with a downed network does not care about your companies internal problems, they just want it fixed. Quoting a litany of your problems to the customer just makes them more upset.

At times we had to expend extra time, money and certainly great customer service to make the situation correct. We lived by word of mouth. One unhappy customer doesn't seem like a problem, they can just go away. But who does this customer know ? With whom does he do business ? Can he write it up in his newsletter or a technical magazine ?

You may think that his problem is small and petty, but to him it is very, very important. The more that you downplay or ignore his problem, the bigger the situation becomes. You must put yourself in his position and " walk a mile in his shoes ".