Cruise Critic Community
Cavstar

Zuiderdam: Current condition and room question

I'm new to Cruise Critic (though not to cruising) and have a couple of questions about our choice. We decided to go with HAL for our upcoming Panama cruise instead of our usual Princess because the price was hundreds of dollars cheaper. Now I've been reading some dismal reports about the condition of the ship (I had thought that its time in drydock would have resolved them, but apparently they only did minor repairs). Can anyone attest to the current (2013) condition of the rooms, upholstery, etc.?

Also, we decided to opt for a deluxe veranda room and were assigned a handicapped room on Upper Promenade (room VD4051). Is anyone familiar with this room or its equivalent? They said we might get an upgrade, but also mentioned it is a bigger room (plus the balcony seems like it might be larger, but it is angled). I'm not sure we'd want an upgrade if it were offered (is one allowed to deny upgrades??)

Any help is welcome.

We were just on the Feb 4th -15th cruise. We did the same thing because of price and we liked the Zuiderdams itinerary a little better since we had not been to either Curacao or Half Moon Cay. I was really hesitant after booking and reading all the reviews. I can say that we had no ac or toilet problems and never heard of anyone else having any. I was really expecting to see a very worn out over used ship and besides a couple of deck chairs that had seen better times I never saw what others were talking about at all. The only thing people mentioned was there was a sewer smell down on deck 2 by the Queens lounge every time we walked through there. I do think that Princess ships are much prettier decorwise though. We had a wonderful cruise and I would choose HAL again if the itinerary was right.

My opinion between Princess and HAL:

Princess has more activities and their evening entertainment is much better.We really enjoy the shows and HAL's were not very good.