Super Star Virgo

little poppett

Hi all

I am new to both these baords and to cruising. we are planning a trip to Asia in March 2006 and are booking the Super Star Virgo 5 night cruise.

Has anyone been on this ship?

We are taking our 20 month old son with us- any tips?

Thanks in advance :)

:)

• 2 weeks later...

The SuperStar Virgo is a sister to ship of the Norwegian Spirit, which was formally the SuperStar Leo. The Virgo is the pride of StarCruises fleet. Having spent some time in Singapore, I'm sure you'll love your cruise.

I cruised Alaska on the Norwegian Spirit. I'm sure the Virgo is just as nice as the Spirit. Most of the orginal crew of the Spirit were shipmates of the Leo. They will work hard to pamper you.

Although my time in Singapore was over a decade ago, I do wish to return. The area is lovely....

• 4 weeks later...

Hi little poppett,

I am originally from New York, but have been working and living in Taiwan for twenty years.

Since Star Cruises first started, about twelve years ago, I have sailed all their ships, past and present, countless times.

Virgo is a fantastic ship. A perfect size. Her decor is bright and bold with many Asian touches. The crew/staff hail from many nations and they are all warm, friendly and eager to please. They are good!

I am in the restaurant/bar business and I can honestly say that the food aboard Virgo is fine, in all the inclusive outlets. I favor the Bella Vista Dining Room. There are other a la carte' restaurants onboard such as The Taj, which has very fine Indian food. This outlet has won awards, by the way.

Then there is Bellini for fine Italian food.

The cabins, while not huge, are perfectly adequate and comfortable in all cabin categories. You will not find yourself bumping into each other. If you are booking a "balcony cabin," try to get one on Deck 10 or 9. The cabins on Deck 11 are directly under the pool area, and at times you can hear furniture moving around. But, this was no big bother to me.