Cruise Critic Community
NantahalaCruiser

Aqua Class commanding very high prices

My wife and I have enjoyed Aqua Class - primarily for the opportunity to eat in Blu - on several cruises. But looking at prices for several 2018 cruises, it seems that the prices of AQ cabins are going through the roof.

With the loyalty upgrade I can book either an A1 or A2 for the price of an A2; and also a 2A for the price of a 2B. So recently I have been comparing A2 and 2B prices for several 2018 cruises of interest. And I am seeing what I consider very large price spreads - the largest being a $1250 pp difference on a 12N Eclipse Amsterdam to Barcelona cruise on 8/30/18.

I know Celebrity will price their cabins at what ever the traffic will bear; but with that price difference my wife and I could pay for another couple to join us in Murano for dinner ever evening of the cruise and still pocket $50 each!

Any opinions on whether or not such large price differences can and will continue?

We've noticed the same thing. We could eat in Murano every night and still be way ahead in a balcony cabin. The difference between balcony and Aqua on a cruise we've been watching is $1750 per person! We could take 2 14 night cruises for that cost in a balcony. The food is definitely not THAT good. The extra points for loyalty level are nice, but again not THAT nice. We'll wait or book balconies rather than pay that difference.

I agree that prices have gone increased but it seems that they have increased across most, if not all, cabin categories.

We have 3 cruises booked in Aqua and on 2 the price for Aqua was $50 per day above a 1a. On our upcoming 14 night cruise it was $750 total, not pp. So for that price AQ is cheaper than the veranda & eating in speciality restaurants every night plus we enjoy breakfast in Blu.

The other cruise is the Edge which we booked on Day 1 and AQ sold out immediately.