Jump to content
eddiecat

Help our cabin is not what we expected!

Recommended Posts

So yesterday my boyfriend and I were given our cabin number on the Oceana. We leave on the 14th of June. We paid for a guaranteed balcony cabin. However the cabin we have received just isn’t up to standards! We are loyal customers and are paying a lot of money to go on this holiday. We have been given,what P&O call a ‘railway cabin’, it’s long and narrow and has 1 fixed single bed with 3 Pullman beds!!!! We are a couple and didn’t expect this whatsoever. We have spoken to P&O but the cruise is full booked so can’t even upgrade us!!! Can someone put me at ease and give some advice??????

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I should think it will be like the picture I just pasted...not bad at all and they will not pull the bunks down if just 2 of you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I should think it will be like the picture I just pasted...not bad at all and they will not pull the bunks down if just 2 of you

 

 

 

It’s just disappointing because we have paid for a balcony queen bed cabin, it’s not what we wanted as a couple on holiday.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It’s just disappointing because we have paid for a balcony queen bed cabin, it’s not what we wanted as a couple on holiday.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

They will put the beds together to make a queen bed...if that is what you have paid for you should get it otherwise I am sure you have a case for some money to be refunded

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
They will put the beds together to make a queen bed...if that is what you have paid for you should get it otherwise I am sure you have a case for some money to be refunded

 

 

 

That’s the problem, the beds are fixed and can’t be moved, it’s such a dilemma. They can’t give any money back and can’t change our cabin, feel like we are being ripped off!!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What is your cabin number? Looking at the Oceana deck plan I can't see anything that matches the description you have given.

There are a couple with fixed twin beds but nothing with only 1 fixed bed and 3 pullmans.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
What is your cabin number? Looking at the Oceana deck plan I can't see anything that matches the description you have given.

 

There are a couple with fixed twin beds but nothing with only 1 fixed bed and 3 pullmans.

 

 

 

B737, if you do some research on the P&O website (I’ve attached a photo of their description of my cabin in their FAQ section) they say that only one of the beds is fixed and the other is also a Pullman / foldaway!

fd0f50622ad04be8f3e63daff9f4737e.jpg

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have paid for a guaranteed BALCONY cabin, you are being cheated. The illustrated cabin is an outside cabin, with two beds and two pullman.

What is the cabin number that you have been given?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If you have paid for a guaranteed BALCONY cabin, you are being cheated. The illustrated cabin is an outside cabin, with two beds and two pullman.

What is the cabin number that you have been given?

 

 

 

B737, technically it’s a balcony cabin but it’s narrower than all the other cabins on the ship so I can’t see how we have received a fair deal!!! Look at this explanation they have on their website and tell me I haven’t been ripped off. What worries me even more is that there are no pictures ANYWHERE of this alleged “balcony fixed bed cabin”. There isn’t even 2 fixed bed, it’s 1 bed and 3 foldout beds and they say there is nothing they can do!!!!!! We have paid £3000 for this room.

9e7ebac6fffaf0511d63b8152b4d58fe.jpg

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If you have paid for a guaranteed BALCONY cabin, you are being cheated. The illustrated cabin is an outside cabin, with two beds and two pullman.

What is the cabin number that you have been given?

 

 

 

Sorry, £3000 EACH!!!!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’d be annoyed as well, but when you say you’ve paid for a guaranteed balcony cabin, was it a Saver fare? If so, because you can’t choose the cabin on saver fares, it’s a risk with Oceana with the number of fixed bed cabins. The only way to avoid would be a Select fare and choose your cabin at time of booking and selecting the no upgrade option. It’s pants though - as a couple, who’d want a ‘railway’ cabin that has one of the lower twin beds folding up against the wall?!!

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I’d be annoyed as well, but when you say you’ve paid for a guaranteed balcony cabin, was it a Saver fare? If so, because you can’t choose the cabin on saver fares, it’s a risk with Oceana with the number of fixed bed cabins. The only way to avoid would be a Select fare and choose your cabin at time of booking and selecting the no upgrade option. It’s pants though - as a couple, who’d want a ‘railway’ cabin that has one of the lower twin beds folding up against the wall?!!

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

 

 

 

Exactly!!! It’s so annoying I just feel like crying! Well I’m not sure we did this all through a travel agency and they didn’t really tell us what was going on and just quickly booked it for us earlier in February. Feel like we should have just sorted it independently now.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I’d be annoyed as well, but when you say you’ve paid for a guaranteed balcony cabin, was it a Saver fare? If so, because you can’t choose the cabin on saver fares, it’s a risk with Oceana with the number of fixed bed cabins. The only way to avoid would be a Select fare and choose your cabin at time of booking and selecting the no upgrade option. It’s pants though - as a couple, who’d want a ‘railway’ cabin that has one of the lower twin beds folding up against the wall?!!

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

 

 

 

Looking at the description, with one lower twin fixed and the other folding against the way, I’m guessing it’s unlikely it can be made into a Queen

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Looking at the description, with one lower twin fixed and the other folding against the way, I’m guessing it’s unlikely it can be made into a Queen

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

 

 

 

We’ve been in chance and the beds are all fixed, no chance for a queen. Total let down, we are very loyal customers to P&O and never had a problem like this before. Surely there is someone out there who has a non fixed twin room of the same grade cabin who would be willing to swap!!!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you been in touch with your travel agent ? They might be able to contact P and O on your behalf. I know that P and O will not deal with you directly if you booked through a travel agent. I would call your agent and kick up a big stink and tell them you are going to complain to the ombudsman because the details were NOT sold to you correctly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Have you been in touch with your travel agent ? They might be able to contact P and O on your behalf. I know that P and O will not deal with you directly if you booked through a travel agent. I would call your agent and kick up a big stink and tell them you are going to complain to the ombudsman because the details were NOT sold to you correctly.

 

 

 

We have, and I’ve spoken to P&O directly but the cruise is fully booked. Every suite and balcony cabin taken. It’s such a disaster. Not sure what our options are but P&O said they would ring us on Monday after talking to the managers. Fingers crossed they can sort this, otherwise we will be asking for compensation!

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We had a guarantee cabin on a select price on Oceana last October and it worked out fine. However we did specify on the cruise personaliser that we wanted a queen bed. I don't think P&O can be held to blame if the travel agent didn't put through the correct information. I have looked at the FAQs and I assume the cabin is the same sq footage as a normal balcony cabin, just longer and thinner. Sounds like P&O are trying to accommodate the request to change though so fingers crossed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes they’re being very helpful, hats off to them for doing their best. We did put on the personaliser that we wanted a Queen bed and we still received this room, its just very disappointing for us.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

£6000!!.....wow....how long a cruise is it for....7 or 14 nights?....whichever...that is way over the top for a guaranteed cabin

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
£6000!!.....wow....how long a cruise is it for....7 or 14 nights?....whichever...that is way over the top for a guaranteed cabin

 

 

 

14 nights, the cruise was very popular and was the only one that our family liked the look of. It’s far too much money, hence why we are even more upset about our cabin.

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's over £200 each per night....I too would be upset

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
£6000!!.....wow....how long a cruise is it for....7 or 14 nights?....whichever...that is way over the top for a guaranteed cabin

 

 

 

Wow... I Agree! This is sounding more and more like the blame sits with your travel agent not fully explaining the risk of saver fares with cabin allocation (and not knowing enough about Oceana!). I’m guessing it’s a med fly cruise - still very expensive! I can fully understand why you’re so upset

 

 

Sent from my iPad using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi....bit of a long shot...but did you request a Queen bed formation....if so I would insist that is what you need and what P&O should provide

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi....bit of a long shot...but did you request a Queen bed formation....if so I would insist that is what you need and what P&O should provide

 

 

 

Yes we requested for Queen bed when we booked it, which is why we are really disappointed

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes we requested for Queen bed when we booked it, which is why we are really disappointed

 

 

Sent from my iPhone using Forums

Then I would insist that is what you want.....keep insisting....would you accept a balcony downgrade ...if so let P&O upgrade someone else ...who has requested separate beds... into your cabin and you accept their " downgraded" cabin.....just a thought. You may have to keep insisting time and again letting them know you are willing to " downgrade" to a cabin with a queen bed. Did you book direct with P&O or through a TA?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Then I would insist that is what you want.....keep insisting....would you accept a balcony downgrade ...if so let P&O upgrade someone else ...who has requested separate beds... into your cabin and you accept their " downgraded" cabin.....just a thought. You may have to keep insisting time and again letting them know you are willing to " downgrade" to a cabin with a queen bed. Did you book direct with P&O or through a TA?

 

We've asked for any other cabin but unfortunately they are totally booked, they even looked at upgrading us to any of the suites but there was nothing. We are expecting a phone call from someone at P&O on Monday to tell us if there is anything else we can do but it looks pretty hopeless as there is a long waitlist for cancellations. We booked it through a TA which feels like a mistake now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
We've asked for any other cabin but unfortunately they are totally booked, they even looked at upgrading us to any of the suites but there was nothing. We are expecting a phone call from someone at P&O on Monday to tell us if there is anything else we can do but it looks pretty hopeless as there is a long waitlist for cancellations. We booked it through a TA which feels like a mistake now.

 

In the UK, a Travel Agent acts as an "Agent Only" on your behalf.

 

Could a single bed/mattress be fitted in the middle?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First things first. Continue to do what you can through your TA and P&O direct. It may be that you don't get anywhere but it's worth a go.

 

Next, if you're still in B737 when you board then go straight to Guest Relations and put it to them and see if you can be moved. You may have to not unpack so that when everyone is onboard you are ready to move if another cabin is available.

 

If you're stuck with what you've got then you've at least done your best.

 

Next, look at the positives and perhaps you'll need to be a bit creative. You're still on a cruise and you've got a balcony. Speak to your steward and see if they can come up with a suggestion. I bet they've had this before.

 

I'm already thinking what I'd do if it was me (and I was a bit younger of course) and straightaway I'm thinking of the three pullman mattresses that I could use to put on top of one another between the two lower berths to build a double bed. I'm sure your steward could help if something else is needed to get the height right. A bit of a faff each night and you shouldn't have to do it but it may mean you can enjoy your holiday.

 

I remember being in a similar predicament years ago and took it upon myself to move a bit of furniture around to get the beds together each night and back where they were each morning. Again, a bit of a nuisance but I enjoyed my cruise.

 

All the best and good luck with getting it sorted.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi....yes they are fully booked but they can still "upgrade" someone who has already booked into your cabin and you accept the " downgrade " into theirs...a swop in other words

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While I feel sorry for you, B737 most certainly has a balcony so you have been allocated what was guaranteed. The picture is not representative of B737. My understanding is that once your cabin has been allocated under the guarantee scheme, you cannot change it even if there were other cabins available. It’s the same with the upgrade scheme in that if you opt in and then find you have been upgraded but don’t like it you cannot normally switch back. There have been many threads on that topic!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
First things first. Continue to do what you can through your TA and P&O direct. It may be that you don't get anywhere but it's worth a go.

 

Next, if you're still in B737 when you board then go straight to Guest Relations and put it to them and see if you can be moved. You may have to not unpack so that when everyone is onboard you are ready to move if another cabin is available.

 

If you're stuck with what you've got then you've at least done your best.

 

Next, look at the positives and perhaps you'll need to be a bit creative. You're still on a cruise and you've got a balcony. Speak to your steward and see if they can come up with a suggestion. I bet they've had this before.

 

I'm already thinking what I'd do if it was me (and I was a bit younger of course) and straightaway I'm thinking of the three pullman mattresses that I could use to put on top of one another between the two lower berths to build a double bed. I'm sure your steward could help if something else is needed to get the height right. A bit of a faff each night and you shouldn't have to do it but it may mean you can enjoy your holiday.

 

I remember being in a similar predicament years ago and took it upon myself to move a bit of furniture around to get the beds together each night and back where they were each morning. Again, a bit of a nuisance but I enjoyed my cruise.

 

All the best and good luck with getting it sorted.

 

Thank you, I will try all of this :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
While I feel sorry for you, B737 most certainly has a balcony so you have been allocated what was guaranteed. The picture is not representative of B737. My understanding is that once your cabin has been allocated under the guarantee scheme, you cannot change it even if there were other cabins available. It’s the same with the upgrade scheme in that if you opt in and then find you have been upgraded but don’t like it you cannot normally switch back. There have been many threads on that topic!

 

We spoke to P&O directly (who were by the way very patient with me sounding irritated an on the verge of crying) they said they would absolutely upgrade us or downgrade us but give us some credit if they could but for some reason they cannot. I understand the guarantee scheme, it's just such a shock that the cabin we have been allocated is so far from what we expected. I've been on many cruises so I have no idea what this cabin will be like, we just wanted a simple standard balcony cabin, hence why I'm disappointed and upset about all of this. We will enjoy the holiday regardless it just seems so strange that as a couple we have been put in this bizarre one bed 3 pullman bed cabin.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would guess that somebody will have to cancel their cruise before you sail, or even a 'no show' on the day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thought - what may not be possible during your first week might just be possible for your second week. Keep up the pressure - and fingers crossed for you - but perhaps they would consider moving you for week two if they have a little more leeway then. Not ideal I know but could be some consolation. So sorry to hear you're in this position and very best wishes that they can do something for you and that you have a great time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
While I feel sorry for you, B737 most certainly has a balcony so you have been allocated what was guaranteed. The picture is not representative of B737. My understanding is that once your cabin has been allocated under the guarantee scheme, you cannot change it even if there were other cabins available. It’s the same with the upgrade scheme in that if you opt in and then find you have been upgraded but don’t like it you cannot normally switch back. There have been many threads on that topic![/quote

 

It still depends what fare you booked under....if you booked Select Fare and were given a guaranteed cabin of a certain grade then you can change to another cabin of similar grade.

If you booked late Saver Fare you have to accept the cabin given. I would think that seeing as you have paid £6000 you booked under Select Fare.

 

It does sometimes happen that you can book Select fare and still be only guaranteed a cabin....it has happened with us.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted (edited)
£6000!!.....wow....how long a cruise is it for....7 or 14 nights?....whichever...that is way over the top for a guaranteed cabin

 

£6000 for 2 weeks on Oceana in a balcony cabin?

 

We usually have A318 or similar and have to sail mid August so high season. We always book a Select Fayre and book early and have never paid more than £5,500 max.

 

Gob smacked that you paid this much - if you check out next year then this isn't the price for 2 weeks in August 2019 for a select balcony I don't think ... they were quoting £7,200 for us for 3 weeks in that cabin select.

 

:confused:

 

PS Sorry, just re read this and it seems a bit heartless --- really feel for you and hope that you have a good cruise. Am just so gob smacked re the price ! Really hope it all gets sorted out for you as we have just come off Oceana and it is a lovely cruise / lovely ship.

Edited by Presto2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to hear your predicament and I have no realistic helpful suggestions though I wonder if you could swap with a senior officer ?

 

Anyway I just wonder if you used a standard travel agent as it sounds to me like they have let you down - and would recommend a specialist cruise agent next time

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow I would never pay more than £100 a night for a cabin, that is really expensive, we have had 3 x 14 night Cruises for that price. I would complain to your T A , was it a specific cruise T A?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know this might seem a bit of an “off” comment but as you have clearly travelled with P&O before (using the phrase loyal customers), what fare types have you booked on your previous trips and if you always book the same fare type then maybe you have been more fortunate in the past. I do hope however that you have a great cruise and are able to make the best of it

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Forum Jump
    • Categories
      • Victory Cruise Lines Sweepstakes - Enter now for a chance to win a free 9-night cruise on Victory II
      • Holiday Exchange - Jingle and Mingle 2018
      • Forum Assistance
      • New Cruisers
      • Community Contests
      • Cruise Lines “A – O”
      • Cruise Lines “P – Z”
      • River Cruising
      • ROLL CALLS
      • Digital Photography & Cruise Technology
      • Member Cruise Reviews
      • Special Interest Cruising
      • Cruise Discussion Topics
      • UK Cruising
      • Australia & New Zealand Cruisers
      • North American Homeports
      • Ports of Call
      • Cruise Conversations
×