Cruise Critic Community
susannahclair

NCAA Basketball Tournament Onboard?

HAL and cruising newbie here! Our family (with two middle-school-aged kids) is considering a HAL Caribbean cruise for Spring Break this year. We like the idea of quieter clientele and don't feel like our kids need water slides and a hundred screens to be entertained.

Our biggest concern: Spring Break is during the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament and we hail from college sports land in North Carolina. My husband would be heartbroken to miss three rounds of the tournament while onboard. Any chance the games will be shown on TV or in a bar somewhere on the Nieuw Statendam?? I've done some googling of past forums and can't seem to get a clear answer.

Thanks for any info!

I would suggest not booking during the tournament if you want to watch many games. In the past HAL gets very few channels that the tournament is shown on.

You might see some games here and there if the ship version of ESPN carries them, but you certainly will not see the full range of games.

We were on the Koningsdam trans-Atlantic during the 2016 Cubs-Indians World Series and could see none of the games. I asked the CD before Game 7 if there was anything he could do to get just that game on TV, and he said no. The previous year, in Australia on the Volendam, we were able to see the entire 2015 Mets-Royals series.

In South America last winter I saw more than enough cricket and soccer to last a lifetime.

The ESPN that HAL receives is the Caribbean version. Last year on Koningsdam some of the NCAA games where shown on the stateroom tv's, but I cannot remember which channel showed them. They were also showing Ladies College Softball.