MSC Status match for existing Voyager Club members

tomservo

Quick question - was wondering if anyone knew if MSC would do a status match for existing Voyager Club members. Was thinking about taking an MSC cruise in 2020, but I don't have anything to match right now that would give me MSC Black status. I might have Platinum on NCL after that, but I was wondering if they would give me a status match after I've already been on one of their cruises.

On a side note - I'm relatively new to cruising, and was wondering what was the fastest way to get something that will match to MSC Black. I don't have any of the high end hotel/credit cards to use to match, so I was thinking if I cruise NCL and get 2-3 points per night (Haven and/or Latitudes Rewards Insider Offers), I should be able to get there with 3-5 more 7 day cruises. Is there a quick way to RCL Diamond, or is it the same with NCL?

Edited by tomservo
Incorrect info about Diamond Plus

22 minutes ago, tomservo said:

Quick question - was wondering if anyone knew if MSC would do a status match for existing Voyager Club members. Was thinking about taking an MSC cruise in 2020, but I don't have anything to match right now that would give me MSC Black status. I might have Platinum on NCL after that, but I was wondering if they would give me a status match after I've already been on one of their cruises.

Can't comment on Voyager Club but there have been several threads saying MSC are now matching NCL Platinum to gold, it appears they are not handing out black so freely now.

1 hour ago, kodesthemoose said:

I believe you can only do status match before you cruise for the first time.

This is not the case, or at least was not when I did status match. I was silver on MSC, had 3 cruises with them, when I did a status match with my NCL Platinum which brought me to MSC black.

• Like 1

So let's say they match you to Gold. Do you then start at the Gold minimum points-wise, i.e. 4300 points?