Cruise Critic Community
Brenditaa

solo travelling on repositioning cruises

Hi my name is brenda and I am retired and would love to get some tips on solo repositioning cruises, I live in Ft Lauderdale and I love to travel the world but I am new to cruising.

2 minutes ago, Brenditaa said:

Hi my name is brenda and I am retired and would love to get some tips on solo repositioning cruises, I live in Ft Lauderdale and I love to travel the world but I am new to cruising.

Welcome to Cruise Critic.  There is a section for solo cruisers that will give you great info!!

https://boards.cruisecritic.com/forum/279-solo-cruisers/

Cruising is a great introduction to traveling solo; if you've traveled solo a lot before, you'll still enjoy it.  As the previous post said, there's a whole forum for solo passengers.   Transoceanic cruising is a lovely way to get from one continent to another, and a great opportunity for travel (on land) when you arrive. 

Hopefully you'll meet someone that would like to cruise with you and split the cost.  The downside of cruising solo is that you have to pay for two people in the room (double occupancy) even when you're the only one there.  

The upside of cruising solo is that you're from Florida, so you're likely to get lots of discounted "Florida resident" rates for many cruises!

I cruise solo and I'd suggest you just book a cruise, go for it with a positive attitude, and see how it works out. Take books (or iPad/kindle).

Some practical advice - do your arithmetic!

Look at the cost of airfare as well as the cruise - work out how you are going to deal with an expensive one way TA flight. I often use the miles I earn on other (round) trip flights to pay for the one way.