Forum Maintenance: Wednesday March 20 @5:00 am ET Read more... ×
Cruise Critic Community
The-Inside-Cabin

LA Times article on the Nieuw Statendam

Here is a link to an interesting article about this wonderful new ship that appeared in the LA Times

We were on Nieuw Statendam's maiden voyage. Here's what we discovered

By KARL ZIMMERMANN
JAN 27, 2019 | 3:00 AM
| ABOARD THE NIEUW STATENDAM

https://www.latimes.com/travel/cruises/la-tr-cruise-nieuw-statendam-holland-america-20190127-story.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+latimes%2Fsports%2Ffootball%2Fnfl+(L.A.+Times+-+Pro+Football)

"inside cabin"  I was wondering where you were.  Thought you would be on the world cruise, but couldn't find you.  

So Mr. Ashford had never been on a cruise when he assumed responsibility for HAL!  That says a lot. I was a surgery manager in 2 different hospitals, imagine if I had never been in an operating room...………..

43 minutes ago, BJzink said:

So Mr. Ashford had never been on a cruise when he assumed responsibility for HAL!  That says a lot. I was a surgery manager in 2 different hospitals, imagine if I had never been in an operating room...………..

We found that a bit strange too.  Some changes that have been made reflect that lack of experience IMHO.  But, maybe they thought that a fresh pair of eyes with no pre-concieved ideas would be helpful.  

Nice article. Makes me want to book a HAL cruise because although I've only been on one HAL cruise, I really did enjoy my cruise on the tiny Maasdam and would like to compare to these bigger ships like the Koningsdam and Nieuw Stantendam.

54 minutes ago, BJzink said: