Why are amateur radios prohibited?

K32682

I am an amateur radio operator and recently discovered most cruise lines prohibit their use on board.  Is there a rationale why ham radios and satellite phones are not permitted on board?  Bringing an HF radio along on a cruise would be interesting particularly on a transatlantic or other long cruises in distant waters.  

There have been discussions on here before.

I think there are two reasons :

1. The signal the amateur is using may interfere with ship systems.

2. The ship sails in and out of different territories where it may be illegal to operate amateur radios or specific licences would be required.

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, kerryincork said:

There have been discussions on here before.

I think there are two reasons :

1. The signal the amateur is using may interfere with ship systems.

2. The ship sails in and out of different territories where it may be illegal to operate amateur radios or specific licences would be required.

I agree with this. It's probably also a matter of frequency control. Just because you have authorization to transmit on a given frequency that may not carry over to another country (of course the universal frequencies would still be available).

Edited by sparks1093

All ships are issued with an international radio telegraphy/telephony certificate, and all UHF/VHF equipment above a certain wattage, and all MF an HF equipment used onboard the ship must be registered on this certificate.  Also, all operators of this equipment must be certified under the laws of the flag state (i.e. must be licensed deck officers of the flag state).  Even if a cruise line allows an amateur radio onboard, it is up to the Captain's discretion whether he will allow its use, since the ship's radio "station" (all the equipment onboard) is operated under his authority.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

I haven't looked recently, but in the past there were Ham Radio cruises.