Cruise Critic Community
Orator

Ist timers: Why did you choose Crystal?

I have noticed that more than half of the people responding to Roll Calls for my Crystal cruises have indicated that they are new to Crystal. I too am new to Crystal and am curious about why the newbies to Crystal decided to try a new line. I am also new to Crystal, but not new to cruising having more than 150 cruises. DW and I decided that as the price difference between other lines narrowed it would be a good time to try a true luxury line like Crystal. Why did you decide to try Crystal?

the price was  right 

want to try  a different line  just  for  a change  of pace

enjoy

Blame Keith and his travel blog. That's what got me to finally pick up the phone and book.

We enjoyed our first Crystal cruise last May, after years of cruising only on Silversea and Seabourn.  This was a short seven day cruise to whet our curiosity.  We found that the ship experience on Crystal is more varied, and that we would rather enjoy longer cruises with many sea days on Crystal.

I did a Regent Panama Canal trip in 2005 and and Oceania Alaska voyage in 2011. For my first Crystal cruise, I mainly considered the itinerary (Baltics last month) and the fact that Crystal's single supplements are a relative bargain. I might try Seabourn sometime if the price/itinerary are right; otherwise, I will stick with Crystal - now trying to decide between three or four voyages in 2021-22.  

Posted (edited)