Cruise Critic Community
NYC2018

NCL Escape Thermal Suite For An Introvert?

Are the pool/hot tub/steam room/salt room/sauna social places? I am excited to try them all, but I’m not very good at small talk. Do people have conversations with others in these areas, or are they quiet spaces? Also, I don’t have a perfect body! For those who have experienced the Thermal Suite on the Escape, do you think a shy, self-continuous person like myself would feel comfortable or uncomfortable? Thanks! 

Just now, NYC2018 said:

Are the pool/hot tub/steam room/salt room/sauna social places? I am excited to try them all, but I’m not very good at small talk. Do people have conversations with others in these areas, or are they quiet spaces? Also, I don’t have a perfect body! For those who have experienced the Thermal Suite on the Escape, do you think a shy, self-continuous person like myself would feel comfortable or uncomfortable? Thanks! 

They're supposed to be quiet places, but all too often there's inappropriately loud talking. Low key talking is fine. We've never really socialized with people we don't know while we're there, nor is there any reason to. It's one of the best places on the ship if you don't want to talk to anyone else.

I’m a social butterfly that needs down time to recharge and the Thermal suites are perfect. Some chatty people but it’s easy to ignore. I usually sit in the saunas and then lounge in the pools. It gets too loud with all the water so talk very much. 

I think you will be fine.   It would be easy to use the whole spa without speaking to anyone else. You will find people of shapes and sizes never seen a super model though. I love the spas and the escape’s  is beautiful. Enjoy.

Yes, there may be people talking, sometimes loudly because the water features of the therapy pool are loud. They almost always will be talking amongst themselves and not interacting with strangers, so IMO the spa would be perfect for you.