Cruise Critic Community

I have no advanced knowledge of engineering, architecture  or hurricanes,  but how strong are the new structures In Coco Cay  and what type of storm can they likely stand? 

Thx

m

A big one.  

I doubt anyone here on Cruise Critic has the detailed engineering knowledge of how the structures on CocoCay were designed to properly answer your question.

We can speculate and assume that they are engineered to handle storms but not specifically what strength of storm.

I would have to believe that with the estimated $200 million investment made by RCI in CocoCay, they were intelligent enough to have studies relative to the potential weather that could affect the island completed and structures designed to withstand that in order to protect their investment.  More importantly it is not something I would be concerned with as it is highly unlikely that any ships would be making a port of call there in any type of threatening weather.

But also agree that it is not likely that anyone on this forum will have accurate knowledge regarding the engineered strength of the structures.  

As a south Florida resident and a veteran of several hurricanes, I can’t imagine any building going on without considering the survivability of a storm.  It may even be the law, like here in our state.  I wouldn’t worry about it, cruise companies are very careful with their investments.

I was told the new waterslide tower is designed to survive sustained 150MPH winds 

Posted (edited)
43 minutes ago, leaveitallbehind said: