Jump to content

Viator/Trip Advisor - DON"T USE!!!


ac1dream
 Share

Recommended Posts

 

We booked this tour that we found on Trip Advisor - https://www.tripadvisor.com/AttractionProductReview-g147342-d14801333-Cruise_Ship_Island_Excursions-St_Lucia.html - when we booked we were asked what ship we were on, what time we get to port (9:00AM) and what time we are allowed off of the ship (9:30AM) - we provided this information and we have a photo of the daily itinerary stating this info.  Please look at the explanation below and please think about it before using them as they are a trip advisor company and they are still screwing us out of our $100 - bottom line is we wrote back again after the exchange below and were responded to again with "sorry, too bad, you knew what time the tour was leaving" - thing is we weren't allowed off the ship until 9:30 so how were we supposed to get there earlier than we did???  There was another Carnival ship in port and it got there at least an hour earlier so it was likely everyone else was from that ship and didn't want to wait for us as we got to port later than they did, but if that was the case as stated below they should have either (1) waited for us or (2) done the right thing and given us a refund.  Why should be have to pay for something we did not receive???

 

Viator should have never allowed the booking of this excursion to anyone on my ship.

We requested a refund with the explanation below:

We were on Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas last week. Our boat did not dock until 9:00 a.m. We were not allowed off the ship until 9:30 a.m. When we were allowed off the ship we proceeded to the area specified on the ticket and were there at 9:45 a.m. We had to walk off the ship and to the meeting area and this is the absolute fastest we could have arrived. Once we arrived there was no one waiting for us - one of the local vendors who was waiting called the number on the ticket we had and the person who answered the phone said "others got annoyed and we had to leave" - come to find out there was a Carnival ship in port as well that arrived at 7 a.m. - if there were others on the tour from this ship that arrived MUCH earlier than us we should never have been able to book if they were not going to wait!!! Now they will not refund our $$$ that, of course, had to be paid in FULL beforehand!!!!!

This tour left at 9:00 a.m. and we confirmed this from other local vendors who called the number on our ticket for us.

Viator wrote back this:

Hi Adrienne,

Thank you for your patience as we looked into your refund request.

Unfortunately, we are unable to offer a refund for this booking.

As per the local tour operator, they sincerely apologize to you however there would be no refund because they did inform you that the tour starts 1/2 hr after the ship docks. The tour guide along with the rest of the travelers waited up to 1 hr for you and you were tag as a 'no show'.

We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Regards,
Monica
Viator Customer Service

THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE - WE WERE THERE 15 minutes after we were allowed off the ship!!!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I see from the description that the tour was at 9am and through st Lucia experience. Personally with a 9am arrival i never would have booked this. When booking these excursions that are that tight time wise its always best to contact the actual outfit directly to see if they can accommodate you. Then at least you would have a shot getting a refund. I can see how upset you are but i am not seeing if you actually contacted st. Lucia experience. You shouldnt have to but its always good to exchange phone numbers and emails. Viator and TripAdvisor are booking agents. They are great for cancellation because its hard getting refunds from local outfits.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I just read the post in TripAdvisor and the company's reply. You need to take responsibility for some of this. Your mismanagement of time and the excursion was your fault. That's unfair to write that review. If you were that concerned about the price you should have made sure all i were dotted and t was crossed. If the other 3 couples made it from your ship then there's no excuse for you. They announce it on the loudspeaker that the ship has docked. And at least contact the provider beforehand to get everything straight. Ive been on too many excursions where we sit and wait for people to wake up and go. Its really aggravating. 

Edited by jean87510
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 11/8/2019 at 11:54 AM, ac1dream said:

 

We booked this tour that we found on Trip Advisor - https://www.tripadvisor.com/AttractionProductReview-g147342-d14801333-Cruise_Ship_Island_Excursions-St_Lucia.html - when we booked we were asked what ship we were on, what time we get to port (9:00AM) and what time we are allowed off of the ship (9:30AM) - we provided this information and we have a photo of the daily itinerary stating this info.  Please look at the explanation below and please think about it before using them as they are a trip advisor company and they are still screwing us out of our $100 - bottom line is we wrote back again after the exchange below and were responded to again with "sorry, too bad, you knew what time the tour was leaving" - thing is we weren't allowed off the ship until 9:30 so how were we supposed to get there earlier than we did???  There was another Carnival ship in port and it got there at least an hour earlier so it was likely everyone else was from that ship and didn't want to wait for us as we got to port later than they did, but if that was the case as stated below they should have either (1) waited for us or (2) done the right thing and given us a refund.  Why should be have to pay for something we did not receive???

 

Viator should have never allowed the booking of this excursion to anyone on my ship.

We requested a refund with the explanation below:

We were on Royal Caribbean Freedom of the Seas last week. Our boat did not dock until 9:00 a.m. We were not allowed off the ship until 9:30 a.m. When we were allowed off the ship we proceeded to the area specified on the ticket and were there at 9:45 a.m. We had to walk off the ship and to the meeting area and this is the absolute fastest we could have arrived. Once we arrived there was no one waiting for us - one of the local vendors who was waiting called the number on the ticket we had and the person who answered the phone said "others got annoyed and we had to leave" - come to find out there was a Carnival ship in port as well that arrived at 7 a.m. - if there were others on the tour from this ship that arrived MUCH earlier than us we should never have been able to book if they were not going to wait!!! Now they will not refund our $$$ that, of course, had to be paid in FULL beforehand!!!!!

This tour left at 9:00 a.m. and we confirmed this from other local vendors who called the number on our ticket for us.

Viator wrote back this:

Hi Adrienne,

Thank you for your patience as we looked into your refund request.

Unfortunately, we are unable to offer a refund for this booking.

As per the local tour operator, they sincerely apologize to you however there would be no refund because they did inform you that the tour starts 1/2 hr after the ship docks. The tour guide along with the rest of the travelers waited up to 1 hr for you and you were tag as a 'no show'.

We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Regards,
Monica
Viator Customer Service

THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE - WE WERE THERE 15 minutes after we were allowed off the ship!!!

You blew it by booking a tour that you couldn't get too in the stated time. 

Nobody owes you a quarter. Go cry someplace else. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

  • Forum Jump
    • Categories
      • Forum Assistance
      • ANNOUNCEMENT: PONANT Cruises & Expeditions
      • Cruise Critic Live Special Event: Q&A with American Queen Voyages
      • New Cruisers
      • Cruise Lines “A – O”
      • Cruise Lines “P – Z”
      • River Cruising
      • ROLL CALLS
      • Digital Photography & Cruise Technology
      • Special Interest Cruising
      • Cruise Discussion Topics
      • UK Cruising
      • Australia & New Zealand Cruisers
      • Canadian Cruisers
      • North American Homeports
      • Ports of Call
      • Cruise Conversations
×
×
  • Create New...