Jump to content
Cruise Critic Community
itf

Stanley Turndown Service quick review

Recommended Posts

I’m posting this as when I searched nobody had commented on this service yet. So here’s something for the next person who searches. We’re on the Sky (no complaints at all) but we did pre pay for this service for my daughter.

 

It could be good but it was a bit of a bust for us. We got back to our cabin to put my daughter to bed to find it hadn’t happened. This despite it showing on our shipboard account for that day. This meant we had to call guest services. 
 

Someone came up but by this point it was my daughter’s bedtime and the “magic” of the bear footprints (she’s three) was somewhat undermined by her watching them get stuck down!

 

The little note that comes with Stanley talks about the book that comes with the package. Except there were no books on board so she got given an inflatable ship. Nor did they think they’d have the book on our second half of this B2B.

 

So - nice idea, let down by poor execution and planning. Just not a joined up experience at all. Stanley is a big full sized bear and the jelly bears are a substantial packet of Haribo. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You deserve a full refund for this poor execution of a "surprise".  3 or 13...

 

And I am not one that chases after refund.  Princess did not deliver the book nor the prepared room.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the information. Sorry it didn't work out for your daughter.  I booked it for my four year old grandson on the Sky Princess in January. Hopefully it works out okay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, mickeyhg said:

Thanks for the information. Sorry it didn't work out for your daughter.  I booked it for my four year old grandson on the Sky Princess in January. Hopefully it works out okay.


I would check in with guest services on the day. It seems it’s fulfilled by the gift shop then passed to housekeeping who then pass to the steward. Our steward had no idea about it. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, itf said:


I would check in with guest services on the day. It seems it’s fulfilled by the gift shop then passed to housekeeping who then pass to the steward. Our steward had no idea about it. 

Thank you I will.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, cr8tiv1 said:

You deserve a full refund for this poor execution of a "surprise".  3 or 13...

 

And I am not one that chases after refund.  Princess did not deliver the book nor the prepared room.

I agree! what a wonderful idea but what you ended up getting was almost worthless.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
11 minutes ago, 2ferfun said:

I agree! what a wonderful idea but what you ended up getting was almost worthless.

I would second this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to hear this - that's disappointing. We had a similar experience with "Breakfast With Stanley". We pre-booked it online and had the specific date/time. However, once on the ship, we were told it was on a different day. The day before we were informed that it was cancelled due to low sign ups. We were on a B2B so asked to book for the following week. Once again, the night before we got a message saying it was cancelled. Kids were sad!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wh .. wha .. what do you mean the paw prints are not real?   I don't understand.   Mrs Ldubs says I just missed him!

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is very sad for sure. I love princess however that last few cruises let’s say they are dropping the ball more and more hope they pick it up.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/9/2019 at 5:41 PM, cr8tiv1 said:

You deserve a full refund for this poor execution of a "surprise".  3 or 13...

 

And I am not one that chases after refund.  Princess did not deliver the book nor the prepared room.

I agree

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 12/9/2019 at 9:03 PM, 2ferfun said:

I agree! what a wonderful idea but what you ended up getting was almost worthless.

I also agree it was worthless and you should be given a full refund. 
Tony

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think you should get a partial refund for sure. I don’t know why they wouldn’t have at least just done it the next day instead of doing it right in front of your daughter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Forum Jump
    • Categories
      • Forum Assistance
      • New Cruisers
      • Cruise Lines “A – O”
      • Cruise Lines “P – Z”
      • River Cruising
      • ROLL CALLS
      • Digital Photography & Cruise Technology
      • Special Interest Cruising
      • Cruise Discussion Topics
      • UK Cruising
      • Australia & New Zealand Cruisers
      • North American Homeports
      • Ports of Call
      • Cruise Conversations
×
×
  • Create New...