Wifi Use Onboard

guycruiser

OK so I am fairly tech savy but apparently not enough I have an android phone. If I have a wifi package while on board for our Alaskan cruise can I text our daughter at home and can I get texts from her without gathering additional billing from either the cruise line our my  provider Verizon? What about phone calls? HELP!!

Gr

I'm not an Android expert, but if you can shut off cell service ("airplane mode") and leave WiFi on then you can text without carrier charges. 

Verizon allows you to set up "IP Phone Calling" so you can make IP phone calls on ships WiFi internet.

55 minutes ago, guycruiser said:

OK so I am fairly tech savy but apparently not enough I have an android phone. If I have a wifi package while on board for our Alaskan cruise can I text our daughter at home and can I get texts from her without gathering additional billing from either the cruise line our my  provider Verizon? What about phone calls? HELP!!

Gr

How about using WHATSAPP?  You can text, voice call, and video call.  You appear to indicated that you are on a ship with MedallionNet.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, guycruiser said:

At home or somewhere where you use a wifi signal, take your phone and swipe down the screen (pulls down "notifications"). in the top right corner, tap the 'gear' for Settings. Tap the magnifying glass at the top near to right. [Do it in that order -- the magnifying glass next to the Settings gear searches for apps only.] so tap the magnifying glass and enter WIFI CALLING. This will take you to wherever your provider has hidden the function. Turn it on. 

Swipe down again. Put your phone in airplane mode and THEN turn wifi back on. Make a call -- or send a text as they both use this function. Once you set this up at home, it will be available whenever you are AirplaneMode+WifiOn -- and there is an available wifi signal. Like on the ship!

Edited by crystalspin
  • Thanks 1