YOU CAN FORCE CARNIVAL TO REFUND YOUR MONEY

Our 4/27/20 Mediterranean cruise was canceled by Carnival on 3/19/20.  On 3/20/20 I requested full refund and was told it would take up to 7 business days to appear on my Carnival Mastercard as a refund.  Repeated calls with Carnival over weeks resulted in them pointing fingers at the bank, saying the refund was processed in a timely manner, then later changing their story to "refunds are taking longer than normal."  After a month and a half I got fed up and told the credit card issuer I wanted them to proactively go after my money from Carnival.  That was three days ago.  This morning I got an email from Mastercard saying my dispute was resolved.  I checked my credit card account and the refund is posted!  Point is, if you're sick and tired of waiting for Carnival to refund your money, you can file a dispute (you'll have to provide details like date of purchase, date of expected refund, date of cruise) and hopefully your credit card issuer will take care of business with Carnival when they don't refund your money for months.

• Like 5

Last time I had to resort to something like this (my card number had been stolen)

The dispute resolution team credited my card the disputed charges in about 3 days (while the dispute was investigated) and then about a month later, I received an e-mail telling me the investigation was complete and the credits would remain in my account.

(of course a new card was issued)

The Fair Credit Billing Act, a federal law passed in 1974 gives you the right to dispute charges in case you are dissatisfied with the transaction through a process called Claims and Defenses. You must file a report on a disputed purchase within 60 days of the statement date on which the charge appeared. 

✌️

The credit card company issued the refund, then writes to the merchant and can keep the temporary credit on your account up to 90 days while the merchant issues their credit.